Skip to content

Impatience

April 21, 2007

Here’s one of the many projects I currently have on my needles. Because I have KADD (Knitting Attention Deficit Disorder), I made a deal with myself to complete at least one project before I start a new one. If I can follow my self-imposed rule I should, in theory, never have more than 18 UFOs (that’s UnFinished Objects for you non-knitters) at once.
I’m actually getting close to finishing this scarf, and I really love it. It’s a fun pattern to knit. It’s from Scarf Style. The pattern calls for using a bigger gauge mohair, but I like the smaller yarn on smaller needles, and mohair would hide a lot of the beautiful pattern. This color-way is also one of the favorites I’ve ever worked with. The yarn is Koigu merino.
My friend Becky is knitting this same scarf using a bulky mohair, and hers is also turning out quite well, although it looks, obviously, much different. I think she’ll be much warmer than I will. Since it’s now finally warming up in Wisconsin, I won’t get to wear this for, oh, maybe 3 months (that’s Wisconsin humor for you non-Midwesterners). But I still want desperately to finish it, because the next project I want to start is a baby blanket. I have some soft cotton and picked out a pattern I’d like to try that involves lots of asymmetrical squares knit together. It looks like fun, and a great way to pass the time while waiting for our adoption.
Oh, yeah. Maybe I forgot to mention our adoption. WE’RE ADOPTING A LITTLE ONE FROM THAILAND!!! Can you tell I’m excited? Kyle’s quite excited too. Even though we have a long long time to wait. So, we started a blog to follow our adoption process. That way, we can keep all the adoption information in one place and not bore those of you who don’t really care to read about the many ways we try to pass the time waiting. So, take a look at this blog if you care to follow all the boring details.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

