Skip to content

First Knitted Object

June 1, 2007

Cleaning out the closets recently, I found the first object I ever knitted. It’s an ugly wool hat I made in a class I took at our LYS (local yarn store) when I was in 4th grade. I even have a picture of myself wearing the hat in class while working on my second ugly object – a vest that I wore only once. I gave the hat to my mom and long time ago, and she kept it until a year or two ago, at which time she gave it back. I don’t blame her, but I’m not going to wear it either, so here’s a picture to remember it by forever, and it will go now to a good home in the sky where it can run and be free.

I’ll be forever grateful to my mom for signing me up for those classes. I have no idea what prompted her to do so, as she wasn’t actively knitting at the time (although she is much more accomplished than I am – she knit a gorgeous fisherman-knit sweater for my dad that would have taken me decades). So although I’m not keeping the hat, and the vest disappeared long ago, I have happy memories of those days, and am glad I learned a hobby to keep my fingers busy.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

