Skip to content

Recipes

June 19, 2007

As requested, here are the recipes for my mom’s rhubarb pie and my frozen vanilla custard. I use slightly less fattening ingredients for the ice cream and it’s still delicious, but feel free to go all out! Important: the pie crust is the key to the perfect pie, and this recipe is the best there is! But don’t add too much water (crust will be tough) or too little (it’ll be too flaky to roll out).

The picture is of my family waiting for Dad to dole out pieces of pie to everyone. Note the attention my sister is paying to the size of the piece being cut, and my reaction to her getting what I believe to be a larger piece than me. I could lie, but I won’t – this picture is only a few years old. Sibling rivalry never dies.

World’s Best Pie Crust (makes 1 crust):
1. Mix 1 C. flour and 1/2 tsp. salt.
2. 1/3C + 1Tbl. crisco (vegetable shortening): Mix in 1/2 of shortening until very fine (like cornmeal). Add the second half and mix until pea-sized.
3. Add 2 to 3 Tbl. cold water (as cold as possible, and closer to 2 Tbl. than 3) and mix until just holds together
4. Roll.
(If prebaked crust is needed for a different recipe, prick with a fork and bake 10-12 minutes at 450F)

Mom’s Rhubarb Pie
1. Mix 1/3C flour, 1 1/4C sugar, 1 dash salt, 5C rhubarb (cut in 1″ pieces).
2. Allow to sit for 15 minutes while you make a double pie crust recipe.
3. Put filling in pie pan lined with unbaked pie crust. Top with several small chunks of butter (~2 Tbl. total).
4. Top pie with second crust. Crimp edges and cut steam vent.
5. Bake 50 min at 400F.

Frozen Vanilla Custard
1 1/2C whole milk (I use 2%)
1 1/2C heavy cream (I use half and half)
2 large eggs
3 large egg yolks
3/4C sugar
1 tsp. pure vanilla extract

1. Combine milk and cream in a saucepan. Bring to a boil over medium heat, reduce heat to low, and simmer for 30 minutes, stirring occasionally.
2. Combine eggs, egg yolks, and sugar in a medium bowl. Beat until mixture is thick, smooth, and pale yellow in color (~2 min. with hand mixer, or by hand until your arm falls off)
3. Pour one cup of the hot liquid into the egg mixture while stirring. When thoroughly combined, pour the egg mixture into the saucepan and stir to combine.
4. Cook, stirring constantly, over medium low heat until the mixture is thick enough to coat the back of a spoon. (This step took me ~30 minutes)
5. Transfer to a bowl, cover with a sheet of plastic wrap placed directly on the custard, and chill completely.
6. Add vanilla and freeze in an ice cream freezer according to freezer directions.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Glen and Andrea permalink
    June 20, 2007 12:41 am

    Thank you!! We don’t use vegetable shortening here so I’ll try to work out a replacement. Also, thanks for the links to the knitting sites 🙂

  2. Robin and Kyle permalink
    June 20, 2007 2:41 am

    I bet good old lard would be delicious! OK, I don’t know if I’ve ever tried that, but it might work. What do you guys use for stuff like baking powder biscuits and the like? I don’t know what we’d do without Crisco!

Leave a Reply

