Skip to content

Dulcimer

August 18, 2007

This morning I felt compelled to pull out my dulcimer and play for a bit. My finger’s don’t have any callouses, so that only lasted about a half hour before it hurt to push down the strings. I haven’t played in quite awhile. In fact, I can’t even find my other dulcimer, which I would have sworn my dad put new strings on recently. Perhaps he took it home to do so and I haven’t brought it back. Or Punkin ate it.

This is the dulcimer my dad made for me. If you’ve never heard of it, it’s an Appalachian fretted stringed instrument. Most are hourglass or teardrop in shape. It has a very pretty, but quiet sound, and is usually used to play folk music. I enjoy playing for myself, but I won’t be giving concerts anytime soon.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Robin and Kyle permalink
    August 19, 2007 4:24 pm

    I got an email from my Dad this morning: “I found your dulcimer under the bed in the guest bedroom. It sounds great with the new strings. Guess I just “forgot” to bring it back.”Ah ha! Thanks Dad. Can’t wait to try it out.

Leave a Reply

