Skip to content

Reducing

September 3, 2007

Our rule to prevent Accum- ulation around the house is that for each item that we bring home, one item of equal volume must leave. We enforce it rather strictly, and consequently the amount of Stuff that we really don’t need hasn’t been increasing in the last year. Unfortunately, we began this system of non-accumulation after it was almost too late, and we still have far too many things that collect dust and make our lives more complicated. I cleaned out closets today and it felt wonderful to pack up three bags for Goodwill. This is simultaneously difficult and very freeing for me. I am too sentimental for my own good and can’t always separate my memories from physical objects, but I also dearly love the simplicity of a room containing only the essentials. (I most certainly will never wear my high school letter jacket again, but couldn’t quite part with it until now – I forced it out by allowing myself to cut off and save the actual letter with all of my medals.)

In my next life, I’m going to live in a one room cabin on a river in the middle of nowhere. It’ll take us that long to dispose of all our possessions, but we’re getting there.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

