Skip to content

Getting my knitting groove back

July 22, 2009


I haven’t really knit much of anything in the past year. I think I knit a pair of arm warmers while on my trip to NYC and that’s about it. T is an active little critter and between watching him all day and working full-time each night, I have roughly negative 12 minutes of free time each week. I *miss* knitting. And then my sister cleared out her stash and gifted me a huge box of lovely yarn full of possibility (because, ya know, my current yarn stash is so inadequate – it’s only twice my body weight).

The box of yarn sat on my dining room table for a full week while I contemplated how I was going to justify keeping it if I didn’t ever actually *knit* anything. The spark that finally moved me to action was that one of my dearest friends had a little one this summer and I wanted to knit him something. I hadn’t started a project yet, knowing my propensity for procrastination (as in, I’ve started projects for many other dear friends’ little ones – projects which are now still languishing on needles while their kids have long since outgrown whatever I was making – sorry everyone – I really stink!)

So I decided to cast on a sweater for the little peanut and do my very best to actually finish it before he’s 5. I like the yarn, I like the pattern (mostly) and I’m almost finished with it already! I can’t post a picture of it until I give it to his Mama but I only have half a collar and button bands left. I think I can do it – but I just heard he’s gaining an ounce a day, so the pressure is really on!

And how have I managed this sudden feat of knitting productivity, one might wonder? T is suddenly interested in “knitting” with me. I give him a small tangle of yarn and 2 needles and he jabs those needles into that yarn over and over and over and over, declaring he’s knitting, with a big grin on his face. Incredibly, this keeps him content for up to an hour at a time. He also really loves to rub yarn on his cheeks to feel how soft it is. He’s already learned that wool is from sheep and cotton is not.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

