Skip to content

So sew

December 8, 2009

My sewing desk was originally in the basement.  It’s approximately 36.8 degrees down there on that concrete floor during the winter, since we keep the house at a balmy 65 upstairs (have I ever mentioned that we’re frugal?).  Sure, I could put on a parka, face mask, and mittens to sew something, but if I didn’t pay attention, I could stitch my scarf right into the project I was working on and be stuck to the machine until Kyle heard my cries and came to rescue me.  I’m a wimp.  I didn’t sew.

We have an extra bedroom that we were using as a waste dump extra storage so I decided to roll up my sleeves and make myself a sewing corner.  Here’s the disaster I started with:

After some prettying up, I have a sewing nook that I adore. T has caught me just gazing at it lovingly:

Yes, I am a geek, but I love my shelves of yarn and fabric.  With them organized so nicely, I am almost hesitant to actually use them.  I said almost.  In the last 2 weeks I’ve been cranking out crafty Christmas presents left and right, plus a few fun things for myself.  I would show photographic evidence, but I don’t want to spoil any surprises.

Now all my little room needs is some fun artwork from one of my favorite Etsy sellers.  I’m hoping Santa thinks I was good this year.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Glen and Andrea permalink
    December 8, 2009 10:05 pm

    I ADORE your sewing nook! I covet it. I keep trying to make my own nook, but it's not working. I've just been sewing on the dining table, with my knitting sprawled on the floor around the house: bedroom, living room etc. Can't wait to see what you are making.A.

  2. kristen anderson permalink
    December 11, 2009 9:54 pm

    which etsy seller?

  3. Courtney permalink
    December 12, 2009 12:26 am

    Oh, it is so beautiful and perfect! Maybe we should just have sewing club at your house. Or a week-long sewing camp where we take turns hiding out in your sewing room while the other tends the kiddies? Oh, and I'm scrambling for gift ideas to make in these waning weeks before Christmas… any chance you can e-mail me your great ideas so I can copy???? 🙂

  4. Robin and Kyle permalink
    December 12, 2009 5:36 am

    Andrea, my knitting is still strewn all around the house, too. I can't seem to have less than 12 unfinished projects at a time. Some are >5 years old. But new yarn keeps calling me with it's Siren song…sigh.Kristen, her name is Kristiana Parn and her shop is http://www.etsy.com/shop/krisblues. I love her foxes. =)Courtney, sign me up for sewing camp!

Leave a Reply

