Skip to content

Refreshed

March 9, 2010

For three years now, the women in my family have taken a late-winter break in the north woods for a weekend of frolicking in the snow, relaxing, and renewing.  Can you tell from the picture that we’re related?  This shot actually has 4 generations…my sister is due soon.  I kept encouraging her to have her baby up at the camp.  I’m fairly certain there’s some rule that babies born at church camp can attend free for their entire lives.  Am I right?  Sadly, no one else shared my enthusiasm for this idea, and Meredith decided not to join us on a potentially labor-inducing hike.

*I*, however, hiked every chance I got, sometimes alone and sometimes not.  We had amazingly gorgeous weather.  There was lots of snow on the ground but the temps were up to nearly 50F.  It couldn’t have been more perfect for tromping around in the woods in March in Wisconsin.  I hiked around the labyrinth loop, which was up to my knees in show and made me wish for snow shoes.  I hiked far out past the bog where I got lost for a time, but saw deer and eventually found my way back to familiar landmarks.

Best of all, I hiked out to the magical place where birds will eat out of your hand.  That is always a highlight of this weekend for me.

I’m so grateful that Kyle is always happy to watch Tea for me so I can gallivant.  Road tripping with the girls and bird nails poking my fingers just never gets old.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Pink MK permalink
    March 10, 2010 7:52 pm

    That even better than feeding the goats at the zoo…and I LOVE feeding the goats at the zoo! Maybe you can share this secret location – it looks pretty cool.

Leave a Reply

