Skip to content

This is what sore feet look like

April 10, 2010
by

Today we attacked a local arboretum and found 16 geocaches, which is probably a one-day record for us.

We covered 5.5 miles horizontally, and cumulatively, 2600 vertical feet.  We have a new GPS that records such stats and I’m a data geek.  I love knowing that we climbed a half mile straight up.  In Wisconsin.  I now feel less feeble for all the gasping I did.  This picture of our route (recorded by our GPS and overlayed onto Google Maps) looks flat, but the area was UP down UP down UP down UP.  Technically, although our highest point today was a lowly 1024 feet above sea level, we climbed more vertical feet than when Kyle, my dad, and I hiked 2000 feet  up the side of Hyalite Canyon in Bozeman, which will forever live in my memory as one of the coolest things I’ve ever accomplished.  (Please, don’t look it up, it’s listed as an “easy” hike.)

And let’s not gloss over the horizontal distance.  That’s a lot of miles when the majority of them were covered by bushwhacking through thorn bushes.  We sometimes followed trails, but not mainly.  At one point I gave all of us heart attacks when I nearly stepped on a MAMMOTH turkey.  As it flew off in a burst of noise and feathers, I saw that we’d scared the stuffing right out of it.  It wasn’t a pretty sight.

We also encountered a muddy swamp and a river.  I had to balance precariously on a log jam over the river to retrieve a particularly difficult cache.  It was the highlight of my day.  My father will. not. believe. that I dared to do it.  Especially if he remembers me getting pathetically stranded going over a tiny creek on that Hyalite hike many (ahem, 7) years ago  (photo left).  Photographic evidence from today exists, but is sadly stuck in Kyle’s phone.  But Kyle was my witness and was very proud of me.  Because I told him to be.

What of Tea?  He walked approximately zero horizontal miles and 48 vertical feet – that’s 3 feet up onto his dad’s back after each cache.  Long live the Ergo!  I probably don’t have to tell you that Kyle is unconscious right now.  And I had better not complain about my blisters tomorrow.

Have I convinced you to try caching yet?  It’s a great adventure!

And let’s not gloss over the horizontal distance.  That’s a lot of miles when the majority of them were covered by bushwhacking through thorn bushes.  We also encountered a muddy swamp and a river.  I had to balance precariously on a log jam over the river to retrieve a particularly difficult cache.  It was the highlight of my day.
4 Comments leave one →
  1. Auntie M permalink
    April 10, 2010 11:07 pm

    Long live the Elephant Syndicate! 🙂 You guys rock.

    • April 10, 2010 11:19 pm

      What are you doing? You’re supposed to be having my nephew right now. Get to work!

  2. Kyle permalink
    April 11, 2010 8:28 am

    Robin is threatening to take us out again today…is rain in the forecast?

  3. Courtney permalink
    April 16, 2010 10:41 am

    I tried my hand at geocaching earlier this week (as you may recall, Robin) only to find that my GPS didn’t seem to work. Puzzling. Until Jim came home and told me I had put the batteries in wrong. Sigh. We will try again on a warmer day now that my GPS is working! And we will make sure that our path doesn’t take us by a playground.

Leave a Reply

