Skip to content

"Helping"

April 22, 2010
by

Today, in a cunning ruse to get some baby face time, Tea and I spent the day “helping” my sister Meredith.  Little Cousin turned one week old while we were visiting, and we marked the occasion with coconut cream pie, courtesy of yesterday’s “baby holder helper”, my dad.  I’m not sure I did much beyond walking the dog and washing a few dishes, but I enjoyed holding Little Cousin, and Tea was sort of agreeable for perhaps half of the day. He kissed her head a bazillion times and pet her with one finger repeatedly.  He also fussed with jealousy, “HOLD me, Mama.  HOLD me.” whenever I could have been of some possible use.

Little Cousin in action

Being wholly new to the teeny tiny baby game, I am amazed at:

  1. How happy and agreeable Little Cousin is
  2. How calm and serene my sister seems on 12 minutes of sleep daily
  3. How squeamish seeing Little Cousin’s umbilical cord stump makes me
  4. How terrifying the seemingly cute fish mobile over Little Cousin’s crib looks from her angle – how does she get any sleep at all?  Those EYES are all STARING at her!

we're WATCHING you...

Unfortunately, Little Cousin just oozes puddles of cuteness all over the place, and I don’t know how Mer and Ewan stand a chance of keeping up with it.  I officially volunteer to mop it up anytime they need a hand.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sharon Snow permalink
    April 23, 2010 7:38 am

    She is a cutie thats for sure, all that hair, and those teeny tiny fingers, just precious. Like you the teeny tiny baby game is completely foreign to me, but its amazing how many totally unrealistic reasons I can come up with to visit friends with new babies, or should that be visit the babies and their Mamas 😉
    I am always amazed by the fingers, oh and that smell, so new sweet and pure. So happy for your family and especially Tea.

  2. Auntie M permalink
    April 23, 2010 3:38 pm

    Your help was very much appreciated! Feel free to come help mop up cuteness any time. The umbilical stump is nearly gone, so you shouldn’t have to worry about that soon. As for calm and serene, we’ll see how I’m doing once she enters the screaming phase…

Leave a Reply

