Skip to content

Also refreshing

July 22, 2010
by

Courtney and I seem to be on a similar quest for relief from the hot, muggy weather that has been smothering us here in Wisconsin.

My concoction was less creative but equally delicious:  I froze Thai iced tea into popsicle molds.

YUM.  And especially luckily for me, Kyle doesn’t care for Thai tea, and Tea doesn’t actually drink tea because of the caffeine.  This popsicle has made my exile to the basement more bearable while waiting for tornado warnings to expire.

The best part about making Thai iced tea today was my discovery that I could use our French press instead of my previous, very messy method of straining through a flour-sack kitchen towel.  I used 1 cup of tea and filled the press to the top with hot water (we have an 8 cup press) and stirred.  I let it steep for 20 minutes before straining.  I poured the tea in a pitcher and added about 1/4 cup sugar and 1/4 cup sweetened condensed milk (I normally use cream but didn’t have any when the mood struck).  I drank some on ice and filled my popsicle molds.  I may now need a second set of molds so that I don’t have to deprive my kid of juice pops for the rest of the summer.

Now if only this tornado warning would end so I can run upstairs for another…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Meredith permalink
    August 5, 2010 2:12 am

    I need to do this. But is there a way to keep homemade popsicles from developing ice crystals that cut your tongue? I hate that.

    • August 5, 2010 8:07 am

      Huh. Do you have a sensitive tongue? I’ve never had this problem. Very strange. We must discuss this further.

Leave a Reply

