Skip to content

Darn it

February 1, 2011
by

Sorry about the title.  I couldn’t help myself.  I blame the blizzard.

While I’ve been lacking in creativity lately, I have been feeling a bit “domestic”.  I washed a few dishes (until my husband rescued me and finished the mountain), did a little laundry, and then, during nap time, I saved a favorite pair of wool knee socks from the garbage can.

I never thought darning was worth the effort to figure out.  Isn’t it something women did 100 years ago while rocking in front of the fireplace at night?  I also don’t usually knit socks or maybe I’d have come around sooner.  But today for some reason (dirty dish avoidance), I felt compelled to look up instructions online and give it a go.  It was surprisingly easy.  Within 10 minutes, the hole in my sock wasn’t visible anymore, and my foot no longer feels the bottom of my slipper.  I didn’t have a darning egg, so I used a round wooden ball from Tea’s toy box.  I don’t know if my mending will last past a washing or two, but it looks much sturdier than it was.

Why sweep your floors when you can use Photoshop to erase the dust balls?

The instructions said to use a contrasting color to make it easier to see your work, so that’s my excuse for the ugly yellow yarn.  I fear that these socks are so well loved, they’ll soon have holes in the heels and other parts of the toes as well, and I’m not sure just how much darning you can do before a sock is no longer a sock, but a criss-cross of yarn holding bare threads together.

Even if the socks don’t survive, it was strangely fun.  So fun, I started thinking about what else I might be able to darn while I had a needle handy.  I found a mitten with two holes and fixed it up as well.  Since it won’t be hidden in a boot, I used a matching color, and you can barely tell it’s been mended.

If only darning worked on the knees of little-boy pants.  I should have been focusing my efforts on patches.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Michelle permalink
    February 1, 2011 9:36 pm

    I like the contrast! I think it looks really cool!

  2. Courtney permalink
    February 2, 2011 11:15 am

    Impressive. I’m trying to work the “love you so much i’d darn you” into a valentine, but that reference might be over the 4-year-olds heads.

    When the darning wears out you can replace the whole sole with leather, aka Pea’s slipper shoes. Then you could wear them forever and ever into eternity and love them 1000x more!

    • February 2, 2011 1:06 pm

      Oh go with it. Nothing says “You’re special” like being compared to a holey sock.

  3. G Cookie and G Bug permalink
    February 3, 2011 7:19 pm

    I think you may be in luck, Grandma Leavens has a darning egg and I’m sure Grandma would like to see someone use it. I’m guessing most young girls wouldn’t even know what it is.

Leave a Reply

