Skip to content

I have only myself to blame for this mess

April 22, 2011
by

Awhile ago I saw some cute but overpriced fabric bunny baskets on Etsy.  I thought, “Hey!  I can probably figure out how to make those.  They would make cute Easter baskets.”

Fast forward one month during which time I did nothing but find a tutorial on how to sew a similar basket.  Today, assuming it was logical that I could still pull them off, I headed to the fabric store to purchase things totally foreign to me like interfacing and batting.   I have never worked with them, but how hard could it be, right?  I still had 60 hours until Easter morning.

Only I failed to anticipate the difficulty of ear placement, of finding a new sewing machine needle when I broke mine on a pin, of the absolute nightmare that is feeding the batting through my machine, of the impossibility of sewing a circular piece of fabric to a rectangle  (this is a talent I will never have), and worst of all: of locating the seam ripper in my disaster of a sewing room.

So…the original baskets on Etsy were perhaps not so overpriced after all.  You could not pay me twice as much to make any more.  And as wonky as these things are turning out, you wouldn’t buy them from me, either.  I am not sure if these will be finished by Sunday morning, but I will try my darnedest.

And of course, I just looked more closely at the photograph that was my original inspiration.  Good grief – they had square bottoms, not round ones.  Now that would have been a whole lot easier.  But do I have enough fabric to switch gears now?  Of course not.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. kerrie permalink
    April 22, 2011 12:45 am

    I’m impressed you even made a start on them so that’s a huge THUMBS UP from me!

  2. Ashley Brooks-Danso permalink
    April 22, 2011 8:17 am

    Oh, my Robin! I can see myself doing that because those bunny baskets are ADORABLE and do look “easy” and are WAY TOO expensive! How do “easy” projects always turn into a nightmare? I have a basement full of them. And…I too have never mastered batting through my machine…that’s always an emergency run to mom’s house!

  3. Auntie M permalink
    April 22, 2011 9:57 am

    I ditto Ashley & Kerrie. You should see my stash of project supplies for things I never even attempted once I figured out the directions! You’re a rockstar for being ambitious enough to make a good start. Also, keep in mind that we come from a family of non-completists. I think you know what I mean…

  4. April 22, 2011 1:53 pm

    You are a far better person than I for even trying. I mean, you have a sewing room. I grew up raised by a seamstress mother who made EVERYTHING, and I can barely sew on a button. Like that sweater you worked so hard on, I admire your persistence.

Trackbacks

  1. With 2 hours to spare « Domestic Wormhole

Leave a Reply

