Skip to content

State of the garden, July 25 2011

July 25, 2011
by

Today’s harvest was raspberries, zucchini, carrots and a handful of sugar snap peas (that went directly into our mouths).

I need more space!  I finally pulled the ratty arugula.  I had to pull some carrots because they were being attacked by the squash plants.  The squash plants are so big and unruly I can’t even reach the squash to harvest them.  Hence the “cue ball” squash that is the size of Pea’s head.  I need gloves and long sleeves to work around them – I didn’t know they were so prickly!  I’m almost glad that they are now under full attack by every pest and disease that a squash can get.  The undersides of the leaves are covered in squash bug eggs (I watched little ones emerging today, which was grossly fascinating), there is squash vine borer frass oozing out of multiple stems, and at least 20 fruit have succumbed to blossom end rot.  But I already have 19 zucchini in my fridge, so if they die now, I won’t cry.  I am satisfied with their yield for my first try.

The tomatoes are a tease.  The vines are now 8 feet high and loaded with green fruit.  I have to stand on a stool to weave them through the top of the arbor.  They can start ripening any time now.  I am inpatient to taste them.

The garlic was ready to harvest (as far as I could tell with my limited-to-Google knowledge) even though the heads are small.  (I should have planted them last fall instead of this spring, but the garden didn’t exist then.)  Thirty heads have been drying in my porch for a week.  I plan to plant a bunch of them back into the garden in fall.

Can anyone give me a good use for banana peppers?  I have roughly 689 huge peppers that just keep growing.  I don’t know how the plants can even stand up under the weight of the fruit.  They were my on-a-whim purchase for the garden.  I passed a pack of 3 nice sized plants on clearance for $1 as I was buying my herbs this spring and thought, hey, why the heck not?  But now I’m thinking, why the heck?  I like spicy foods, and one thin slice is good on tacos, but their burn lingers for a day on my lips.  Is there some way I could process them into a chipmunk destroyer weapon?  Or maybe let them grow larger and hollow them out for canoes?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Courtney permalink
    July 26, 2011 1:44 am

    those clearance plants will get you every time. we have had the too many peppers issue. we typically solve it like this: jim spreads them out on a baking sheet to dry. they sit on our counter for a few weeks. then i compost them.

    please make zucchini bread for me and send it through the wormhole asap.

    • July 27, 2011 11:09 am

      i love your approach to excess peppers.

      the house is all cooled off from the storms today – i can actually imagine turning on the oven. zucchini bread sounds divine. what time will you be over to bake it for me?

Leave a Reply

