Skip to content

A state of tomato emergency

September 8, 2011
by

The tomato vines are now well on their way down the other side of the 9′ arbor.   Kyle is worried about the amount of weight on the arbor and that it could catch the wind and take flight in a storm.  I am worried that we will be burried alive in tomatoes.

So far this season we’ve harvested 61 large tomatoes and 344 cherry tomatoes.  (Yes I know it is geeky to count them.  I am geeky.  My family should be happy I’m content with a tally on the fridge whiteboard instead of a day-by-day excel spreadsheet.  Maybe next year.)  We harvested more than 50 cherry tomatoes a day for a few frightening days.

This has taught me an important lesson – I do not have enough local friends.

Poor Pea doesn’t like the taste of tomatoes, although he’ll nibble a few bites here and there.  The rest of us have been doing our best to eat our body weights in tomatoes each week.

I’m not complaining – they are delicious and a lack of fresh, plentiful produce in the backyard is going to be a painful shock at the end of the season.  We have a few favorite recipes for serving up the tomatoes, basil, garlic, and zucchini of the summer.  I thought I’d share them in case anyone else has a happy garden.

Bountiful Garden Zucchini Enchiladas – These babies are filling.  We add a can of rinsed black beans to the filling for extra protein.  I don’t even notice I’m eating zucchini, and yet one dissapears from the counter every time we make them.  Perfect!

Mozarella and tomato salad – I’m sure everyone already knows about this heavenly combination.  My Belgian AFS family introduced me to it and since then it has been one of the things I look to most about the end of summer.  We had it with a zucchini frittata tonight.

Gazpacho – Kyle tried not to look worried when I told him we were having cold tomato soup for dinner.  It was amazing.  I don’t know if he liked it enough to eat the leftovers because I hid them for myself.

Salsa, of course, but I always wing it so it’s hit or miss.  Does anyone have the perfect recipe?

Roasted summer veggie tarts: From Jack Bishop’s Year in a Vegetarian Kitchen.  Roast chunks of tomato, shallot, zucchini, peppers, eggplant, corn (and whatever else you like) at 400 degrees for 40 minutes, toss veggies in olive oil, salt and your favorite herb, and pile veggies on squares of rolled out puff pastry.  Bake at 400 for 20-25 minutes.

Pan roasted garlic and cherry tomatoes on pasta – our absolute favorite summer dish, from Jack Bishop’s YIAVK.  This is roughly the recipe:

  • Roast 12 unpeeled garlic cloves in a covered skillet on the stove over low heat until soft, approximately 30 minutes.  (Shake every 5-10 minutes.)  Peel and mash in a bowl with a fork with 1/4 tsp salt and 1t olive oil.  Set aside.
  • Bring large pot of water to boil and cook 1lb pasta.  Drain and put back in pot.
  • While cooking pasta, heat 1/4 cup olive oil in a small saucepan over medium heat and add 14 ounces whole cherry tomatoes.  When the tomato skins start to split, mash them against the side of the pan with a spoon.  When all are mashed, simmer for a couple of minutes, then turn off the heat and add the garlic puree mixture and 1/2 t red pepper flakes.  Salt to taste.
  • Pour the tomato sauce over the pasta and add 3T chopped basil.  Enjoy with crusty bread.
What are your favorite tomato recipes?  I’d love to add to my list.
9 Comments leave one →
  1. Jill permalink
    September 8, 2011 3:36 pm

    Thank you for posting this recipe — When you mentioned it in an earlier post, I was going to ask you to post it, but then forgot. Thanks for reading my mind — looks so good!

  2. Courtney permalink
    September 8, 2011 5:50 pm

    Have you started having tomato nightmares? Where you are running down a hill and they are hot in pursuit? 🙂 I am, as always, very jealous of your garden. And I could totally remedy the lack of local friends thing if only you would move next door. But I know, I know, you planted asparagus. What if I planted asparagus next door for you?

    • September 8, 2011 9:50 pm

      No nightmares yet – just fingers crossed that the green tomatoes don’t all ripen on the same day. =)

  3. Kristen A. permalink
    September 8, 2011 7:10 pm

    The basil, cheese, tomato salad is a favorite here too. I also drizzle balsamic vinegar along with the olive oil. Heavenly. 🙂

    • September 8, 2011 9:35 pm

      Mmm, balsamic vinegar is a good idea. Thanks!

  4. Nancy Huwe permalink
    September 8, 2011 8:26 pm

    Ratatouille is delicious & uses both a ton of tomatoes & a zucchinni. . .I double it & freeze half or more for a winter treat. Also can do this with a fresh spaghetti sauce. Eat & freeze to enjoy when all the veggies have gone.

    An easy way to use up a beefy tomato is to:
    Slice – thick or thin
    Sprinkle with shredded mozz. cheese
    Sprinkle with sliced almonds
    Broil for a few minutes till cheese is melted & almonds lightly browned.

    Enjoy

    • September 8, 2011 9:36 pm

      Thanks Nancy – I keep meaning to look up a ratatouille recipe. And I love broiling tomatoes and cheese on bread – I like the idea of adding almonds.

  5. Jenn permalink
    September 8, 2011 10:21 pm

    Ooh, thanks for the enchilada recipe! I only know how to do an unstuffed skillet version, and it doesn’t have zuccini. I need a good frittata recipe if you have one…we inherited tomatoes and zuccini from visiting my folks…as well as lots of peppers. And there apparently is a MOUNTAIN of sweet potatoes on it’s way. We may have to hop a plane to Thailand to escape…

Trackbacks

  1. Blerg « Domestic Wormhole

Leave a Reply

