Skip to content

The replacement

September 25, 2011
by

Last fall I spent a lovely afternoon photographing the boys in hand-knit hats.  Strangely, that was the last day we saw Tea’s red pointy hat. It disappeared off the face of the earth.

There was a cold morning last week when we needed hats on the walk to school.  Tea was very jealous that Pea had a hand-knit one and begged me to make him another one.  I found a cute pattern and let him pick the yarn.  With the exception of the band of linen-stitch, it knit up very quickly.  I’m happy with how it turned out and would knit this pattern again.  Maybe Pea needs a matching hat in a different color…

Now I just hope we don’t lose this one.

(Raveled here.)

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 25, 2011 9:06 pm

    Oh my word and honor, that last picture is priceless! I really, really like Tea’s new hat. That’s some serious Etsy material there.

    • September 26, 2011 9:34 am

      Thanks Jen. If I could charge $87 for the hat I’d make minimum wage. 😉

  2. Courtney permalink
    September 26, 2011 2:18 am

    oh my goodness, where to start? first, i need a close up of the top of the hat. second, you are unbelievable, that hat is gorgeous. third, never, ever let him wear it anywhere but your backyard because i will cry for you if you lose. fourth, perhaps you could make a hat chain for it, like the mitten chains that connect mittens to coats? fifth, please knit pia a hat. stat. 🙂

    • September 26, 2011 9:38 am

      Slightly better shot of the top: http://images4.ravelry.com/uploads/robinanne/75581851/hat_tea_1.jpg
      Unfortunately, staying home won’t help. Kyle and I are *positive* we lost it the afternoon we *stayed in the backyard*. We could require him to only wear it *in* the house – it *is* that cold here in the winter…
      Let’s do a crafty trade after I get through my current list of knitting projects. One shawl, and 459 baby sweaters. No sweat, right?

  3. September 26, 2011 9:01 am

    That is such a FAB hat!! And I love the pictures of your boys, they are so cute!! As always…

  4. sharon permalink
    September 30, 2011 1:05 pm

    I LOVED that red hat! Good thing I live States away or I may have been a suspect for it’s disapearance! I love these new one’s tio, it has to be the cutest hat design ever! Oh, and your photo’s kill me! They are all American, brotherly love, best friends with a cse of michief thrown in for good measure, seriously awesome pictures. I really love that last one too.

  5. sharon permalink
    September 30, 2011 1:06 pm

    Oh, and as you can clearly see, I can’t spell!

Trackbacks

  1. Capucine « Domestic Wormhole

Leave a Reply

