Skip to content

Fancy new birthday toy!

November 8, 2011
by

Kyle and I don’t buy birthday presents for each other.  We’re not that into “stuff” in general, hate shopping, and neither one of us likes the idea of buying something just because of a date on the calendar.  That’s not to say we don’t treat ourselves to special things sometimes, it just doesn’t usually match up with a birthday.  That made my birthday 2 years ago a huge surprise when Kyle bought me my DSLR camera.  He knew I wanted one but we hadn’t gotten around to researching them and making a final decision.  It was completely unexpected and so, so dearly appreciated.  (He may possibly be sick of hearing me thank him repeatedly.)

I have used my camera nearly every day for 2 years, and while I’ll never be a professional photographer like I’d dreamed of as an 8 year old, I truly enjoy taking pictures.  It’s my main creative outlet.  I read and fiddle a lot, and am always looking forward to learning something new.

I don’t think that better gear equals better pictures unless you’ve really mastered what you’ve got at your disposal (and I have certainly not).  The thought of another camera hasn’t entered my brain.  So imagine my surprise when I opened my birthday present from Tea yesterday morning and received another camera.  “Mama, I KNEW you’d love it!  I KNEW it!”  He was so profoundly excited to give me something I’m passionate about, he was bouncing out of his chair.  Oh, how I love my sweet boy.  I am one very, very lucky birthday girl.

 

Edited to add: Tea just informed me I posted the photo upside down – the square is the tripod.  See?  I have so much more to learn.

 

 

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Courtney permalink
    November 9, 2011 12:50 pm

    I hear that paper cameras are all the rage. Tea is clearly on the cutting edge of the photography industry 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Leaf hike « Domestic Wormhole

Leave a Reply

