Skip to content

Leaf hike

November 13, 2011
by

I know I said we don’t really do birthday presents, but I received some money and instructions to get myself something special, so I decided on a new (well, refurbished) zoom lens for my camera.  Yesterday afternoon it arrived in the mail.  Instead of ripping open the package immediately, I made an apple pie.  I rolled the crust while the sun sank lower and lower in the sky.  I chopped apples instead of taking pictures of everything that was lit by this golden, perfect light.  Only love for my boys (and for pie) could give me the strength to leave the lens sealed up in its box until it was dark outside.

But I can only be strong for so long.  This morning we headed out to a local trail under the pretense of a leaf hike so I could play with my new toy.  It should go without saying that I’ve included way too many pictures in this post.  Kyle warned that They might take away my blogging licence.  I’m going to risk it.

We encouraged the boys to look for different shapes, colors, and textures of leaves and seeds.  They got into it right away by shoveling handfuls of brown oak leaves into their bags, but then they started to be more selective.

It was a gorgeous, warm morning, and it wasn’t long before the boys shed their jackets.

Eventually the leaf collecting was abandoned in favor of shenanigans with Kyle.

Back at home, Tea had to decide which pieces of his collection should go into the nature bowl for our centerpiece.  And I had to decide which of 313 pictures to share.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Courtney permalink
    November 14, 2011 7:08 am

    Love the leaf bag! Did you make it? Such a great concept. Looks like it was a beautiful day for a hike 🙂

Leave a Reply

