Skip to content

Wurm

December 22, 2011
by

I finished the hat for Tea’s teacher while driving to and from Kyle’s family last weekend.  Long stretches in the car are my preferred knitting time – the scenery is ever-changing and I have a captive audience to ramble to.  The pattern was called “wurm” (Raveled here) and I loved it – the brim is 2 layers thick so it’s very polished-looking, and the ridges make it extra warm.  I knit it in my favorite yarn -the amazingly soft superwash (so you can throw it in the washer and drier without it shrinking) merino Malabrigo Rios.  I want one for myself.  I tried to forbid Tea’s teachers from wearing them at school so they doesn’t feel obligated to.

So now that those are finished, I am of course attempting to knit a very last minute blanket for the doll my niece is receiving for Christmas.  In my head, these projects are super quick.  In reality, I now have 90% of a finished blanket after 2 evenings of knitting, but 4,613 loose ends to weave in before Christmas morning.  Luckily I didn’t make anything for the boys this year so I have no other projects I’m frantically trying to finish up.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 22, 2011 4:24 pm

    Why, oh why did you make a striped one??? I can help weave in ends too… it doesn’t have to be finished on Sunday. 🙂

    • December 22, 2011 4:53 pm

      Not stripes but random blocks of color. And because it’s pretty! =) I am finishing up the border tonight and then I can start on the ends. I think it’s pretty cool but I may not get to any clothing. That could trickle in during the rest of the winter and she won’t notice the difference, right?

    • December 22, 2011 5:36 pm

      Oh, and? 4,613 = 32. 😉

Leave a Reply

