Skip to content

Thank you for smoking

January 23, 2012
by

One of my dad’s hobbies is building cigar box guitars and dulcimers.  He frequents cigar shops to ask for their empty boxes and comes home with loads of them for free.  The best ones, he sets aside for instruments.  The rest are packed away until he finds a use for them or accumulates too many and gets rid of them.  Occaisionally I ask for a half dozen.  Anyone with kids knows that nothing is more fun than putting things inside of other things.  And I’ll be honest – I keep a few for myself because some of them are pretty.

Tea and Pea have a stack of cigar boxes outside for collecting and sorting rocks, acorns, shells, and mud.  They have a stack of them inside for holding their “specials” – cards, pictures, drawings, beads, anything else they want to squirrel away.

The hinges are sometimes flimsy.  The boys are not especially gentle.  The boxes do not last forever.  I asked Dad to bring another load with him when they came to visit this weekend.

Tea latched on to one box in particular and sat with it open in front of him, poking at its insides, proclaiming it to be his very own laptop computer.    Without encouragement or guidance he taped a construction paper keyboard complete with a space-bar into the bottom of the box.  He asked for help making a screen that he could change, so I broke out my stash of large promotional magnets (I knew I was saving them for something).  I glued a big one (I think it listed the year’s schedule for a local sports team) onto the back of the “screen” and then he glued smaller, business-card-sized magnets advertizing things like plumbers and veterinarians onto the back of the interchangeable “screens” he drew.

Tea wanted an email screen to write to his dad at work, and he drew a picture of a zebra and a sheep on another “so I can blog about my trip to the zoo.  I didn’t really go to the zoo, but I’m going to pretend.”  He swaps the screens out depending on what project he’s working on.

Emailing in his jammies, just like his mom. I do not, however, wear a crown.

Of course, Pea wanted a laptop like his brother’s, so I helped a little more with that one.  They requested yarn cords and “plug them in” after working.

I might have to limit their screen time before they even have real screens.

I see more cigar box fun in our future, so keep smoking those cigars, people.  I hear they are totally, totally healthy.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2012 8:25 am

    I love this. Tea is so creative! Great idea, Tea. Send me an email when you have time in your busy blogging schedule.

  2. Tea's and Pea's Nana permalink
    January 23, 2012 8:48 am

    I knew all those boxes I was saving would come in handy. Great creativity Tea. It’s amazing what you can do if you turn off your tv.
    Grandad

  3. January 23, 2012 1:02 pm

    Maybe you should wear a crown. I hear it enhances productivity…

  4. Renee Hilgers permalink
    January 23, 2012 1:20 pm

    Robin, If you and your father ever get toooo many boxes ask your mother to shuffle them up here to Door County. I collect them whenever I can for my assemblage work, but I sure don’t get them for free or ever have more than I can use!!! Thanks bunches! Hugs, Renee
    P.S. Though I don’t reply often, I surely do love your blog and have enjoyed watching your boys grow. I love the pics I get see of Judith. Since I still have no grandchildren I live vicariously through Cathy and other dear PEO sisters!!!

    • January 23, 2012 3:47 pm

      Renee, we’d love to bring up a bunch ourselves – what a perfect excuse to visit you and Door County! I’ll ask Dad to keep some for you.

  5. Jenn permalink
    January 24, 2012 9:14 pm

    Love it! Sid was “skyping with daddy” with a tupperware box in the bathtub…a lot less involved, and no craftiness required from me. I concur that you ought to be wearing a crown. I sense another project coming on…perhaps it should have your Thai zodiac sign? BTW I washed one of the tshirts we stamped, and the glitter spray kept the ink on! I’m happy share, if your kiddos can wear glitter…:)

    • January 25, 2012 7:40 am

      Sid should be careful with those electronic tupperware boxes in water. =)

      I’m still in denial about the shirts. But it is the year of the dragon now, and the naga was one of the cooler stamps, so hmmm….

  6. kerrie permalink
    January 25, 2012 1:45 am

    love it! Kids imaginations are just wonderful wonderful things!!

  7. Ingrid permalink
    January 26, 2012 11:11 am

    Well as you perhaps know, or maybe not, as of half october last year I opened a newspaper/magazine/cigarette shop … as much boxes as you want .. only it’s a little far to come and get them 🙂

    • January 26, 2012 2:30 pm

      Oh fun. I didn’t know. Wish I could pop over to visit!

Leave a Reply

