Skip to content

Just desserts

January 26, 2012
by

While leaving a comment on a blogger-friend’s post this week, I noticed the profile picture of a previous commenter who is also a bloggy friend of mine.  I’ve seen this picture before but I haven’t stopped to really notice it in awhile, and it made me laugh out loud.  It’s a drawing her daughter made of her that showcases breasts bigger than her head.  The always hysterical Wendy blogged about it last spring and you should go check it out because it’s quite funny.  Go ahead.  I’ll wait.

I probably shouldn’t have laughed at Wendy, because the universe saw to it that Tea proudly bring home an anatomically correct drawing of me from school today.  And, like Lily, he created a fairly accurate likeness of his Mama.  No waist.  Large tummy.  In need of a haircut.  Yep.  I’m going to focus on the positive and be glad that I’m smiling.  For the record, my feet are not that scary.

Part of me is glad that he came home with a drawing of something other than a firetruck.  I have 9,326 pictures of fire trucks from Tea’s school art projects.  Fire trucks with beads glued on for flashing lights.  Fire trucks from the front.  Fire trucks from the side.  Fire trucks with popsicle stick ladders. Fire trucks with macaroni firemen.  Once Tea picks a subject, he explores it to its fullest.  I can’t say I’ll be sad to see his Fire Truck Period end, but a part of me is nervous – once he latches on to a subject he doesn’t let it go very easily.  This could possibly be the first of 9,326 naked pictures of me.

The scariest thing is that I’ve seen his 4K class in action.  During “choice time” the kids flit from station to station working wherever they please.  The kids working at “art” create something and then file it away in a mailbox to get packed into a backpack at the end of the day.  They can recognize their own names and sometimes put their art in their own box, but more often than not, they file it away in the box of a friend as a”present”.  God only knows how many children in Tea’s class are also bringing home pictures of me.

I so desperately hope he learns how to draw clothes soon.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2012 3:29 pm

    Oh my. I really should NOT be laughing. I am dooming myself right now…

    • January 26, 2012 3:55 pm

      Go ahead and laugh. Everyone else did. Now I know why Tea’s teacher was grinning at me especially big at pick-up today.

      • January 26, 2012 4:33 pm

        If I laugh now, in two months time he’ll be coming home with pictures of me breastfeeding…

      • January 26, 2012 5:03 pm

        If you’re lucky, it’ll just be breastfeeding. He knows the details now – it could be Rook being born. =P

  2. January 26, 2012 4:05 pm

    Karma’s a bitch, ain’t it, sister?

    LOL!!!!

    Love this post…and thanks for the link to my blog. The more people see my spectacular jugs the better.

  3. Jenn permalink
    January 26, 2012 8:51 pm

    AHAHAHAHA! Sorry, but that’s awesome. Sid never draws me with breasts. Probably that’s because really, I am no Wendy in that department. (I love her already, BTW. We have to make her move here!) 🙂

  4. Kerrie Andrews permalink
    January 26, 2012 9:17 pm

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA! I can see you doing some explaining at the next parent/teacher night! 😀

Leave a Reply

