Skip to content

Chai to share

February 2, 2012
by

Even though this is the Winter the Isn’t, even though I’m wearing long underwear and wool knee socks and a scarf inside my house, even though today is an unusually warm 42 degrees, my feet are frozen blocks of ice.  If I wiggle my toes, they will crack right off my feet.  Maybe it’s the fog outside – a damp cold always permeates my body.  Maybe it’s the (lack of) circulation I inherited from my perpetually cold father.  Maybe it’s the frugal setting of 65 on our thermostat.  Whatever it is, some days I just can’t shake the chill.  Today is one of those days.

My two go-to solutions for this torture are soaking my feet in a hot bathtub and sipping a pot of homeade hot chai – preferably at the same time.  My chai recipe is my very favorite hot drink in the whole world.  It tastes better with friends, so please stop by for a cup.  But bring slippers and a hat.  It’s chilly here.

Chai

  • 2″ piece of cinnamon stick
  • 4 green cardamom pods
  • 3 whole black peppercorns
  • 3 whole cloves
  • 3 T sugar
  • 3 heaped t orange pekoe tea or 4 black tea bags (I use plain Lipton)
  • 1/2 C whole milk

Bring 3 cups water to boil in saucepan.

Break open cardamom pods and grind the seeds and peppercorns with a mortar and pestle.

Add all spices, sugar, and tea to boiling water.  Remove from heat and cover for 10 minutes.

Strain or remove tea bags.  Add milk and bring back to a boil.  Whisk for frothiness.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jenn permalink
    February 7, 2012 9:18 pm

    Leave the pot on for me!

    • February 7, 2012 10:07 pm

      Looking forward to Thursday. I’ll definitely make us a pot.

Leave a Reply

