Skip to content

Happy Valentine’s Day

February 13, 2012
by

Tea was excited to make valentines for his classmates this year.  I am sure some day he’ll turn up his nose at anything but the store-bought kind, but since he was game to make his own, I went with it.  I gave him lots of options (thank you, Pinterest) and he chose a concept that he liked and dictated the changes he wanted to make.

Paint thumbprints must have been fun the first time around, because he picked them again to make animals and bugs.  I was smart enough to do the paint part of the the project while Kyle was around to be in charge of hand washing.  Tea wanted the critters to be on hearts instead of the rectangular bookmarks we’d seen online, “because valentines are all about love”, and insisted we get pink sparkly paper because “girls like that kind of stuff.”  I got him to compromise on just pink, minus the sparkles (I suffer from traumatic over-exposure to glitter from high school, but that is a story for another day).

There were quite a few steps to putting these together, but Tea worked on them over 3 days and I’m proud of him for finishing them all without getting frustrated.  The only help I had to give was writing the words.   Sixteen valentines are now tucked into envelopes, ready for tomorrow’s party.

Pea helped with the ones we are mailing out this afternoon (ahem) to out-of-town friends.  He enjoyed getting his fingers messy, but I ended up doing most of the work on those myself.  Much more fun for Pea was the free-form valentines we made this morning with a friend who came over to play.  I cut out lots of hearts and gave the boys glue and paper and markers.  They both had the same M.O. –  glue 47 hearts, all in one big stack on top of each other, and scribble around them.  So fun to listen to their giggles as they worked.

Have a very sweet Valentine’s Day!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 13, 2012 11:03 pm

    Happy Valentine’s to you and yours as well 🙂
    Love these crafts with the kids… mine are happy to do as little as possible these days… so enjoy when they are still very happy to help you out!

  2. Deirdre Luvon permalink
    February 13, 2012 11:54 pm

    Good job– I always feel successful when a project is seen through to completion with no break-downs! Don’t worry– my boys still much prefer to make and receive homemade valentines! You’ve got years ahead of you! And my boys both did that glue on top on top on top thing in preschool too!

  3. February 15, 2012 1:31 pm

    That’s really cute..I can’t believe Tea cut all those out himself! Also? I’m gonna need to hear the glitter story. 😉

Trackbacks

  1. Happy Valentine’s Day | Knots, Weeds, and Library Fines

Leave a Reply

