Skip to content

I’m going to pretend this was procrastination by design

February 21, 2012
by

I have 3 books that should have gone back to the library last week.  (Not the ones on your card, Kyle, honest.  Er, OK, sort of the ones of your card.)

The valentines I planned to mail (already late) on February 13th didn’t go out until the 15th.

The kitchen counters are currently stacked with 4 meals worth of dishes.

My passport expired months ago.  (Yes, travel-bug infected husband, I’m on it.  I swear.  Nearly.)

I tend to procrastinate just a little bit.  So it is no surprise that we didn’t get around to putting our gingerbread house together until February.  But I think my procrastination, in this case, turned out to be a good thing – I hereby claim that waiting to decorate the gingerbread house in February was intentional.  The holidays are too packed full of activities, lists of things to accomplish, traditional activities to do.  It’s not that I don’t enjoy any one thing in particular, but the whole list of them is daunting, especially when I try to, you know, enjoy everything too.  And while we try to keep things simple and easy, we also want the kids to experience all of the fun things we remember from our own Christmases growing up.  It’s hard to squeeze all the traditions in, but it’s also hard to let them go.

I think the best solution to this problem would be to move Christmas to the end of January, New Years to February, and Valentine’s Day to March, to allow more time for proper holiday preparations and continued enjoyment of the very long winter months.  But no one asked me.  So instead, I think we’ll start a new tradition of doing some of the more traditional holiday activities long after the tree has become mulch meat at the teeth of the city chipper.  Gingerbread houses, cutting snowflakes, holiday baking…you are all relegated to February.

nothing is sweeter than watching the boys work together

Pea tests out the frosting

why am I not surprised there was a frosting skirmish?

the proud decorators, moments before a bath to wash the frosting from their hair

And that email / phone call / letter I owe you?  It’s on my list of things to do – I swear.  I’ll get to it just after I bake a loaf of stollen, which I can do as soon as I wash Dish Mountain.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Michelle permalink
    February 21, 2012 9:54 am

    I love this idea! Who can get it all in between Thanksgiving and Christmas anyways? But do you still listen to the holiday tunes after Christmas? I pretty much feel like listening to them anytime there is snow. Great pictures as always!

    • February 21, 2012 10:06 am

      Thanks Michelle. Christmas songs after the 24th of December make me want to jab candy canes through my ears, but Tea has a bunch on his MP3 player that he listens to whenever the mood strikes him. Thankfully he still prefers Radiohead and Paul Simon most days. =)

  2. Nancy permalink
    February 21, 2012 9:22 pm

    I sent (international) valentines off to 5 lucky people on Feb. 13th. They may get them before the end of this week. I was esp. motivated to do this, as I sent no Christmas cards this (last) year. I have opted for a Lenten letter most past years. Hope I get it out in the next months! I’m also thinking krumkake for Easter – as the iron I bought at a rummage sale 3 years ago still has not been tried out.

    • February 21, 2012 9:45 pm

      A Lenten letter is a great idea. And krumkake for Easter sounds great – you could stuff them with jelly beans. =)

Leave a Reply

