Skip to content

I wanted to stop the question as it left my mouth

February 28, 2012
by

At breakfast, Tea was obsessing over age.  More specifically, the age that he will be in the future.  As he talked, his voice grew in volume and excitement:

“Right now I’m four, but soon I’ll be five, and after that I’ll be six, and then I’ll be seven.  And after that I’ll be eight.  And then I’ll be nine.  And after I’m nine, I’ll be ten.  And after that I’ll be eleven – I’ll be SO OLD!!

“Huh,” I thought.  “I wonder just how old he thinks eleven is?”

“Tea, how old do you think I am?”

He screwed up his face in thought for a moment and paused before answering:

“Twenty-one.”

This sounds very sweet, right?  Twenty-one is a lovely, young age.  That year I was sharing a cute little apartment with a good friend, blocks from State Street in Madison.  We spent our time hanging out with friends, drinking tea, reading books, listening to good music, eating amazing Nepali food, procrastinating on studying.  We threw a fun party or two.  I was just days from turning 21 when I met Kyle, love of my life.    I look back on that year fondly.  I should be flattered that Tea thinks I am 21.  And besides, I’ve never been the type to care what my age is.  My 30th birthday was not traumatic.  I don’t dread my 40th.  In fact, I usually can’t remember how old I am anyway.

I should have been content.  I should have left well enough alone.  Oh no.  My spirits buoyed by my sudden youth, I asked, “Why do you say 21?”

“Because that’s the highest number I know how to count to.”

a picture of my stinker. because a certain person doesn't actually read this blog and only looks at the pictures. =)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2012 12:00 pm

    Well, at least he’s not 5 or 6 and can count past 100. Then you’d be in trouble. Oh, and the picture? Sweetest face ever!

  2. Mom permalink
    February 28, 2012 12:39 pm

    Oh no! So how old does he think his nana and granddad are? Are we 21 too? I think I’ll take it. Though I don’t have as many detailed memories from that age as you do.

  3. February 28, 2012 4:11 pm

    Bahahaha! Oh, 21. Good times. But you didn’t have the joyful addition of kids in your house to make you laugh and feel old. 😉

Trackbacks

  1. Entrepreneur « Knots, Weeds, and Library Fines

Leave a Reply

