Skip to content

OK *now* I’m ready for spring

March 6, 2012
by

My annual retreat to the Wisconsin north woods with my mom and grandma was as relaxing as usual.  I’d been looking forward to it for months.  There was so much snow that I feel like I finally got to experience winter this year, if only for a weekend.  And I didn’t have to shovel any of it.  Perfect.

I tried snowshoeing for the first time and really enjoyed it…until I layed down in a deep, warm drift of snow to listen to the snow falling and the birds around me…and couldn’t stand up.  At that point I was glad the bald eagle overhead was the only witness to me flopping around.

I split my time between snowshoeing around camp and soaking up the warmth from the fireplace with tea and knitting in hand.  The lodge is a slippers-only building in winter.  Every year, my grandma brings bright purple slippers with huge pom poms on the toes and asks if I knit them because she can’t remember where she got them,  Every year I tell her it wasn’t me.

As wonderful as the weekend was, the very best part was walking back into my house – the boys were exponentially cuter after a weekend apart, and Kyle had delicious food on the table and had cleaned the entire house.  (I’m pretending it did not take me less than 48 hours to undo his hard work.)

Only 5 more months and we get to go back to Moon Beach with the kids for hot summer fun.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. March 6, 2012 10:00 am

    Gorgeous winter pix, Robin. And you stole my heart with words of tea and knitting with grandma. We only had 1 inch of snow this year, and looking at your pix makes me miss the snow a bit. Don’t wish for summer to come yet, it’s gonna roast us alive, I fear… we’re in for a hot summer.

    • March 6, 2012 11:00 am

      Ha ha – you’re not just getting summer, you’re getting a Thai furnace. Drink lots of water! =)

  2. Rachel K-N permalink
    March 6, 2012 10:09 am

    Great post! Were you at the Wild Women’s Weekend? We’ve got lots of exciting camp family news, too. But, if I know you go to the WWW perhaps I could convince my mom to attend next year! Glenn and Mike kept talking about the all of the “wild women” that were around. Hope it was as great as it sounds! Rachel

    • March 6, 2012 10:58 am

      Yes, I’ve gone for 5 years now – it’s a different feel from being there in the summer – I love the quiet and the amazing food that Patty makes when she’s not cooking for kids 😉 . You and your mom should definitely come! Next year we’ll touch base and make sure we sign up for the same weekend. Was Mike there? I’m curious about your news…

  3. March 6, 2012 12:18 pm

    Such cozy moments!! Love this post!

  4. March 6, 2012 6:48 pm

    Ooo! So refreshing and cozy! Weekends away are so good for a mama’s soul. I’m jealous of that cozy Wisconsin lodge! Kudos to Kyle for keeping the home fires burning. 😉

  5. Nancy permalink
    March 6, 2012 8:58 pm

    Sounds like a wonderful weekend, Robin! I’ll see if the next week or 2 would work for a visit. . .

    • March 8, 2012 8:00 am

      Excellent! Just let me know. Looking forward to it.

  6. March 8, 2012 12:46 pm

    Robin, remember when Rachel and I took you out on the ice? That may be my favorite memory of you ever.

    Also, I can’t wait to go back to camp either! Bring it on, August

    • March 8, 2012 3:36 pm

      Becca, How could I forget the hour that I was closest to death? Thank you for the horror. You can be assured I did NOT go on the lake myself this year. 😉

Trackbacks

  1. Not a February Baby Sweater « Knots, Weeds, and Library Fines

Leave a Reply

