Skip to content

Entrepreneur

March 30, 2012
by

Kyle, the most wonderful man in the world, thought that we should add 2 more raised beds to the yard this summer, doubling our veggie growing space.  I wasn’t about to argue.  Wisconsin March decided to cooperate with our plan and gave us some nice hot weather to work in.

The boys helped by hovering over every shovelful of dirt that went into the wheelbarrow, searching for worms.

Wanting to keep them occupied and happy for as long as possible, I encouraged them by explaining that the worms would help the soil in the existing garden and that they could toss them in for me.  Only one or two worms were relocated to the veggie garden but the worm hunt carried on with great enthusiasm.

There was one brief misunderstanding when Pea announced that he was “stressing the worms out” and I assured him that the worms were just fine…until I looked up and realized he was trying to say he was “stretching the worms out”, which was, indeed, stressing them out at the very least.  If the worms in our yard were on Twitter, the top trending topic that day would have been #Armageddon.

After I’d spent the day digging and moving sod around the yard from one spot to another, I checked in on the boys’ very large worm colony.  Tea held the squirmy mass out to me and offered to sell me the worms for my garden:

“Only $50 each.”

But I got the last laugh – he can only count to 21.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2012 4:29 pm

    I am not such a fan of those squirmy worms, but my girls used to love to digg them up as well. Fun to be a kid 😉

  2. Andie permalink
    April 6, 2012 10:08 pm

    Such cute boys 🙂

Leave a Reply

