Skip to content

I am not ready for this

April 26, 2012
by

Tea has been bringing home art from his school friends for awhile.  It used to be pictures of rainbows and flowers.  Now it’s portraits of Tea and love letters.  From three different girls.  I don’t know how they know how to write and spell – Tea has only learned to write his first name.  I guess the girls are more advanced?

from girl #1, whose mother told me has mentioned her love for Tea at home

a portrait of Tea from girl #2

from girl #3, who is apparently aware of the competition and needs a confidence boost

I asked Tea if he gives them artwork to take home as well, and he said, “Yeah.  They taught me how to draw Cinderella for them.”  I wondered who he thought Cinderella was, since we don’t have the book or the movie.  “Oh Mom, she’s a princess of course!”

This is all very sweet, but it’s a little unsettling to unpack stacks of love notes from multiple girls day after day.  And my four year old?  Totally nonchalant about the whole thing.  I am starting to be nervous about the future.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Meredith permalink
    April 26, 2012 8:20 am

    This starts at FOUR??? Can’t you just let me live in denial for a little bit longer?

  2. April 26, 2012 8:42 am

    Yeah it starts early. I was very alarmed when 6th grade girls started running towards my son to give him hugs in the morning! Cougars…

  3. mommysaidaswearword permalink
    April 26, 2012 11:18 am

    hahaha, this is too cute! “I don’t know if you will like it.” He’s so handsome, it is only going to get worse from here!!

  4. Vanessa permalink
    June 5, 2012 7:52 pm

    Awwww 🙂

Leave a Reply

