Skip to content

I guess I’d better start planning something

May 1, 2012
by

Tea is closing in on 5 despite my warnings that he’d better stay 4.  The prospect of a birthday party is the most exciting thing in his life right now and he talks about it incessantly.

I didn’t realize the obsession was spilling over into the school day until recently when Tea came home from school with a list of names.  He told me he’d asked his best friends to write their names on the paper in order to be “officially invited” to his (currently entirely unplanned) party.

The original invite list, which includes the teacher's aid.

He posted the list on the refrigerator for me and we had a talk about not discussing the party at school so as not to hurt anyone’s feelings.

The next day, Tea came home from school with a folded up packet, sealed with clear tape.  Tea told me to open it and inside I discovered construction paper tickets.  On each ticket was the name of a friend.  He’d collected them “as admission tickets to my birthday party”.  Some of the names were different than the list the day before.

Admission tickets

It was time to take action, as not all the names on the tickets matched his list.  He’d already talked about the party with his friends and I hated to leave anyone out, but I’d only planned on letting him invite 5 kids.  Formal invites needed to go out ASAP so I could freeze the guest list. Interestingly, he invited 5 girls and 1 boy from his class.  I designed some invites and sent them to school along with a stronger warning not to talk about the party with his friends.

I might as well ask Tea not to breathe.  He came home the next day recounting a conversation he’d had with his friend E.

“You should have your party at Chu.ck E Ch.eese.”

“No, it’ll be even better than that – it’s going to be at my house and my mom’ll have LOTS of fun games to play.”

No pressure.  Now I’d better figure out what the heck we’re going to do.  His only two requests: a pinata and an ankylosaurus cake.  Good luck with the cake, Mom.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Nancy permalink
    May 1, 2012 9:15 am

    We’re still holding out on parties at home & no gifts. Though it seems like the kids still like to bring a homemade card or an ice cream topping or this year, a snack to make “party snack bags” for everyone to take home. This also takes care of those lovely “party favor” bags often filled with amazing items from China. Each year I wonder if I’ll get away with it again. But I keep saying “it’s our family’s tradition.” They still get gifts from grandparents & Mom/Dad. I planned a bunch of games,which were fun, but honestly all they really wanted to do was play together.

    • May 1, 2012 3:51 pm

      I don’t remember *ever* having a party that wasn’t at home. And I remember enjoying our giggly middle school sleep-overs while we scared ourselves silly watching movies like The Birds.

      We don’t do gifts either, as the kids get so much from family, and I don’t think they even miss it. I agree with you – they just want to play with their friends.

  2. May 1, 2012 10:53 pm

    This post tickles me to no end. You have a sharp and social little man on your hands! I bet the teacher’s aide was particularly flattered…I didn’t see the teacher’s name on there!

    • May 2, 2012 7:30 am

      Yes, and strangely, I didn’t know the aid’s first name, so I was like, “Who’s THAT with the beautiful penmanship? ” 😉

Leave a Reply

