Skip to content

A roaring good time

May 21, 2012
by

Tea had an exciting birthday.

In my family, homemade pies are the traditional birthday dessert and Tea wisely chose strawberry for his big day.

For the party with his friends, however, he requested an ankylosaurus cake, which left my mom and I consulting Google to learn that it was an armored dinosaur with a clubbed tail.  We stole the construction plans from a woman who executed it brilliantly, and I kind of hope the boys want this cake every year.  It’ll be hard to top, at least in the “having fun constructing a cake with my mom until midnight” department, and was an excuse to eat almond kisses and mini snickers that didn’t pass our rigorous “quality inspection”.

The party was dino-themed to match the requested cake.

Invites (for posterity):

I’d been inspired by a blog post I read to sew dinosaur tails for the guests, but I find sewing curved lines to be more torturous than being eaten alive slowly by millions of mosquitoes with my hands tied behind my back.  So I designed my own tail that was a pyramid instead of a cone so I’d only need to sew (not very) straight lines.  They came together fast even for a pretend-sewer like me.  I spent perhaps only an hour on each tail including the cutting and stuffing.  Some of the kids were reluctant to wear them at first, but everyone had one on by the end of the party.  My own boys wore theirs to the grocery store yesterday.  And to the farmers market.  I’m starting to wonder if they are becoming part of their permanent wardrobe?

The kids dug for fossilised dinos in the sandbox.

 

They ran an egg-in-spoon relay with dino feet (idea from Family Fun).

 

Kyle was in charge of the erupting volcano.

 

Apart from the cake, the only request Tea had was a pinata.  The boys helped make one in the shape of a dinosaur egg (conveniently also the shape of a balloon) and then painted it.  We didn’t reinforce the top enough and it fell a few times from where we’d poked holes to hang it.  Emergency surgery was performed and the kids were able to take a few more rounds of whacking at it.  Pea was overly-susceptable to the pre-whack spinning, and ended up on the ground.

 

There was also an obstacle course that was run many, many times, a balloon stomp, a dinosaur bean bag toss, and general silliness.

 

Finally, there was cake.  As much fun as it was, I’m glad he only has one birthday a year.  I’m going to go take a nap now.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Michelle permalink
    May 21, 2012 9:06 am

    Oh my goodness that looks SO much better than Chuckie Cheese!!! Those dino tails are adorable and hilarious. What fun and creative and eco friendly games! Will you plan my next birthday? Glad T had a great b-day 🙂

  2. Hannah permalink
    May 21, 2012 9:18 am

    That looks awesome! I love the Dino tails – you are so crafty! 🙂 Glad Thanu had a great birthday!

  3. groovyhuwe@hotmail.com permalink
    May 21, 2012 10:02 am

    You were busy planning a super fun time! That cake looks like some alligators we’ve made in the sand! Thanks for sharing, Robin!

  4. May 21, 2012 2:27 pm

    What a cute party!

  5. May 21, 2012 2:43 pm

    Dear Robin, will you be my mom? My birthday is July 30. Thanks ever so much.

  6. May 21, 2012 3:26 pm

    WOW! What a fun birthday Robin! Good work to you and Kyle and Judith. I very much enjoyed the tails, volcano, and the cake. SO FUN! I am also extremely entertained by your earlier posts about Tea inviting his friends by himself.

  7. lucy permalink
    May 23, 2012 1:14 pm

    robin – you are INSPIRING!!!!!!!

  8. kerrie permalink
    May 27, 2012 3:43 am

    Great birthday party idea’s. I love them all. Only problem is trying to top that next year! 🙂

Leave a Reply

