Skip to content

Family Camp wrap-up

August 23, 2012
by

Our annual week at family camp has come and gone, which for me always feels like the beginning of the end of summer.  Camp this year was the easiest we’ve had yet with the boys.  I don’t know if it was all of the engaging activities to keep the boys entertained, the endless opportunities to ditch their parents and make new friends, or the bribes of chocolate milk at dinner after days with a good attitude, but the boys were so well behaved.  They got a bit wild at times, but who can blame them, with the constant parade of friends to chase and s’mores to eat.  There was one melt-down at the pickle ball court, but I’d say that’s not bad for a whole week.  And since I later beat Kyle in a match, my memories of the pickle ball court are still happy ones.  (I won 3 of 4 games, for the record.  I, who literally failed tennis in high school.  I suspect Kyle is ordering a set of pickle ball paddles for a rematch.)

Looking back at the week, I didn’t get my camera out very often.  I was too busy knitting, chatting, weaving a basket, playing games in the lodge, swimming, sailing, canoeing, eating, singing, watching Tea fish, performing goofy stunts with Peeps, and walking 3.8 miles around the lake every (every!  including the morning it poured!) morning at 6am.  I was also busy making babies cry.  On more than one occasion I tried infant wrangling to give a parent a break, and it always resulted in screams.  Just call me the Baby Screacher.  (OK, once, I held my nephew and he smiled.  Once.  Check the pictures.  I have proof.)

It’s fun watching Tea and Pea with their 2-year-old cousin “Cricket”.  We spent one morning at the kid’s museum in Eagle River when rain made swimming less attractive (to Kyle and I).  Tea and Cricket are solidly matched – she was bossing him about how to sit nicely in his car seat for half of the drive, and repeating my mom’s words to him about why he couldn’t go on a horse trail ride for the other half.  “You’re not big enough,  You can ride ponies but not horses.   When you’re bigger, you can ride horses.”  He seemed to think this was pretty funny.  He spent the week sharing his most cherished stuffed animals with her and petting her head whenever she visited our cabin.  Pea was obsessed with comparing his size to hers.  “She’s littler than me, right Mama?  And her brother is just a baby.  I’m not a baby anymore, right Mama?”

It was also awesome watching Tea and Pea make connections with some of the important adults in my life – many of whom I first met as a kid at camp myself.  After they boys finished eating, they’d often ask if they could sit with someone during songs, and then I’d watch them scamper away across the dining room to snuggle into the lap of a friend.

I didn’t get my camera out many times, but I made up for it with snapping a lot when I did have it handy.  Here are my favorite four thousand pictures from the week.

Friends of Moon Beach, we will miss you all dearly until next summer.  Hope to see you around!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 23, 2012 8:09 am

    Phooey on you. You held out on me! You got the best pictures of Cricket all week and you didn’t submit them to the cd???

    • August 23, 2012 9:40 am

      Sorry. I didn’t have time to edit my RAW files in time. I’ll get them to you this week. There are more I didn’t post. She’s so adorable, I can’t help but take a zillion of her.

      • August 23, 2012 1:29 pm

        Excellent, I’d love copies. And I just finally had time to sit down and actually read your whole post instead of just looking at the cute kids at the end. I can definitely understand Pea’s need for reassurance that he’s bigger than her – she has enough attitude to fill up a ten year old some days. That conversation in the car with Tea is just like her.

Leave a Reply

