Skip to content

More procrastinated knitting

August 24, 2012
by

I am woefully behind in knitting for the babies in my life.  The little boy I knit this set for is now almost 6 months old.  I nearly finished it the month he was born, but put it down during the last sleeve and for some reason didn’t touch any knitting needles again until August.

Eventually the thought of camp had me dreaming of spending my time knitting while the boys ran free, so I pulled out this project to get it ready to take along.  I got it up and going again, making sure I had all the needles, supplies, and instructions I needed, but I ended up finishing it before we even left for camp.

Luckily, I embrace the procrastinator within and never even attempt to knit newborn-sized baby garments anymore.  This is a size 24 months so I knew I’d finish it before he’d outgrow it.

I love this yarn so much and wish I had it in a sweater that fit me, but that would take me years.  Honestly, I’d probably never finish it at all.  My kids would be going through my craft room after I die and pull out half a sleeve still attached to needles, saying, “Here’s knitting project #4,812 that Mom never finished.”  That is why I knit for babies.  I have half a chance of completing my projects.


Since I finished this before camp, I got to start the next baby project as I sat on the beach watching my boys swim.  I have 4 more kiddos to knit for, but I may have to take a break because my boys are requesting sweaters.  I really should oblige them – I know they won’t want to wear hand knits forever, and at this rate, I’m already looking at knitting a size 7 for Tea if I want any chance of finishing it before it’s been outgrown.

Ravelry links for sweater, hat, and slippers here.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Tea's and Pea's Grandad permalink
    August 24, 2012 12:17 pm

    Nicely done! I won’t ask for one since I have one foot in the grave already.

    • August 24, 2012 12:22 pm

      You’re insane. I can’t knit a sweater for you anyway. Your arms are too long.

  2. March 20, 2013 12:52 pm

    Beautiful! I just found your blog through Ravelry, and I must say that I completely relate with you comment about your kids finding a half finished sleeve when you die. That’s why I also knit baby projects, and try not to make newborn sizes!

Leave a Reply

