Skip to content

Costume musical chairs

August 31, 2012
by

Oh my word, if Tea changes his mind one more time about what he wants to be for Halloween, I am going to lose mine.

After much thought and deliberation (a spider!  a koala!  a zombie!  a totoro!  a witch!) he finally settled on being a princess.  He was excited about the idea for more than a week (no other idea lasted more than 12 minutes) so I thought we were safe to start making arrangements.  We got Pea excited about being a “pea” to compliment his brother’s costume.  (Thanu thought we should rewrite the fairy tale to “The Princess and the Cucumber”, but I nixed that idea – it made me think of the story in a less, ah, innocent way.)  Plus, I had visions of the cutest little pea costume on my Pea.

We stopped at Goodwill to check out the princess costumes.  According to Pea, we were also searching for a “pea” costume.  I knew I’d have to sew that one myself, but Pea was convinced that a single round, green pea would be hanging on the rack for us to purchase.  Sadly, no peas were to be found, but there were 47 different princess dresses for Tea to inspect.  He tried a few on and gave them a test twirl, but ultimately decided they were “not sparkly enough”.

Then he caught sight of the “boy costume rack” and became enamored with an astronaut suit.  It fit him like a glove and was a fun costume to add to our dress-up box anyway, so I was game for a change in plans.  I was all for Tea being a princess, but I certainly wasn’t going to force him if he changed his mind.  Poor Pea was distraught.  “But I want to be a PEA!”  I knew that Pea would happily go along with anything, given time to warm up to the idea, so I didn’t worry about that just yet.  We bought the costume.

On the ride home, Tea announced that he’d changed his mind again.  He wanted to be a scary monster.  Scary, scary, scary, it HAD to be scary.  The scarier, the better.  I told him I wasn’t going to buy him another costume and that if he wanted to be a monster, we’d have to make the costume ourselves from supplies we found around the house.  He didn’t like that idea and started to freak out.  This didn’t matter to me.  I bought one costume, I wasn’t going to buy another.  He would have a choice to make.

Complicating matters was the fact that they wanted their costumes to coordinate.  Pea didn’t want to be a pea without a princess, and Tea didn’t want to be a monster if Pea wasn’t one, too.  We got home and the boys started to make deals with each other.  I didn’t know exactly what was going on until they’d figured out a solution that pleased them both.  Pea agreed to wear the astronaut suit and Tea would be…no, not a scary alien, which would have made the most sense (and been relatively easy to make), but the space shuttle.

Oh boy.  I see a lot of cardboard in my future.  At least we’ve already got packing boxes around the house.  I think I’ll wait a few weeks before I start, however.  By tomorrow he’ll probably want to be a hedgehog.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jenn permalink
    August 31, 2012 3:07 pm

    what goodwill was this with an astronaut costume?!?!?!

    • August 31, 2012 3:12 pm

      Janesville! No more astronauts, but they had pretty full racks. Might want to check now before they get picked over.

Leave a Reply

