Skip to content

Distraction by gourd

September 10, 2012
by

In less than 24 hours, we’re signing the real estate agent’s paperwork to list our house.  I have spent more than a month getting the house ready, and somehow, I still have a list of chores I need to accomplish which includes washing all the windows and floors on the second floor.

But a person can only scrub for so many hours a day.  I have run out of clean rags and emptied the vacuum canister 4 times today (how can my house still have this much dirt when I’ve been cleaning for a month?!), so it’s time for a break.  Sitting down makes me look around our clean home, which makes me think, Holy Cow – we are selling our house.

I don’t really want to think about it, so instead, I picked the enormous cucumber that’s been growing in our veggie garden.  It is 24 inches long and weighs five pounds.  I’m not exactly sure why we let it get so large.  Initially it was hiding behind some leaves, but ultimately I just got curious about how big it would get.

Pea wants me to turn this into one giant pickle. He won’t accept I don’t have a jar that big.

I put it on our coffee table so we can admire it.  In the average house, you might not notice a gargantuan cucumber in a living room, but since the house is totally decluttered, it really stands out.  It’s our only decorative element.

I think it’ll look awesome in the listing photographs.  I’m considering placing it in every room before the picture is taken and people can play “where’s the cucumber” when they view our listing.

Give me props for not making a dirty joke this entire post. Giant cucumbers are *funny*!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Nancy permalink
    September 10, 2012 8:23 pm

    Are you sure this is a standard cucumber? I’ve seen edible gourds similar to this in Asia?!

    • September 10, 2012 8:28 pm

      It’s an Armenian cucumber. I just looked it up and apparently they are actually a variety of muskmelon (although they taste like cukes), and they typically grow 30-36 inches long. Dang! I could have let it grow longer!

  2. Kerrie Andrews permalink
    September 10, 2012 8:48 pm

    Where’s the cucumber. It could overtake where’s wally without a doubt!!

  3. September 12, 2012 2:22 pm

    I think it’ll definitely attract more buyers! Go for it!

Leave a Reply

