Skip to content

Nothing to report

October 6, 2012
by

Life in our neck of the woods has been sailing along pretty smoothly lately.  Tea is loving kindergarten and his new friends.  Although he comes home very tired, I am loving hearing him tell stories about his day.  Pea is loving the extra attention he gets from me with his brother gone.  I’ve kept the house (mostly) organized and clean in case we get a showing, but there hasn’t been a ton of interest.  This is a win-win for me.  I’m not the one commuting so I just get to relax in my comfy house and enjoy the friends I have here.  I’m not in a hurry to leave.

Tea’s time at school seems to have deepened the kids’ relationship with each other even more.  Pea often wonders aloud during the day what art project his brother might be creating or what he’s eating for snack.  He counts down the minutes until we pick him up and they can play again.  One afternoon, Pea announced he wanted to “run-hug” Tea, so he backed up a full 50 yards from the school door and when Tea came out, Pea rocketed towards him with all his might and grabbed him in a huge hug/tackle.

These cuties will often hold hands for an entire 90 minute car ride.

It makes me smile to hear them catch up with each other after each day apart.  Pea: “Tea!  Mama and I made cranberry bread and I saved you some!” and Tea: “We made monsters in art class – let me show you; it’s in my bag.”  Even funnier is listening to Tea give Pea the social rundown about his friends.  “Today, ‘C’ and ‘J’ played dragons with me and we caught the dragon-rider!”  (Pea: “What about ‘K’ – did she play with you today, too?”)  “Not at recess, but I sat with her at lunch and we made rainbows together during choice time.”

I simultaneously adore and grieve watching Tea creating a world for himself that has nothing to do with me.  I was secretly a little glad that Tea wished he could have watched the homecoming parade with me instead of his kindergarten class this week (although obviously he ultimately had a blast with his class), and he tells me he will always always want lots of snuggles no matter how big he gets.  He’s still a Mama’s boy at heart.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Nancy permalink
    October 6, 2012 7:20 pm

    Robin,

    You take such beautiful photos of your boys. . . & of most everything in front of your lens! Have you considered doing professional photography? Thanks for sharing!

    • October 7, 2012 4:31 pm

      Thanks Nancy, that’s so nice of you to say. Truth be told, though, I fear I’m too introverted to be a good portrait photographer for people I don’t know. I had fun taking the interior pics for our house listing, though, so I might consider real estate photography once Pea is in school?

  2. October 16, 2012 10:13 pm

    I’m just now catching up on this and can SO RELATE! I continuously struggle with the push/pull of wanting my kids to learn/grow/explore and also wanting them right here with me! Ironic that we are supposed to give them roots and also wings…how exactly does something grounded…fly? 🙂 I adore the pictures of your two boys together! They capture so much.

Leave a Reply

