Skip to content

Someone to share my yarn with

December 17, 2012
by

Tea has been requesting a knitting lesson for awhile and yesterday we had a spare hour, so he hopped on the couch next to me and I cast on a bunch of stitches for him.  I demonstrated how to knit a stitch or 6, and then he took the needles in his little hands and went for it.  He picked it up fast – I was amazed.

I was nearby to rescue the first 20 or so stitches he dropped, but he’s doing incredibly well.  He said “It’s tricky to get my fingers to learn the right movements”, but he stays calm when he gets into trouble, and sometimes puts his project down to “take a little break”.  Ten minutes later, he’s back with needles in his hands.

Tea really appreciated yarn as a baby

Tea, age 2

He was laughing, remembering how when he was a toddler and wanted to knit like his Mama, I gave him scrap yarn and needles to jab into the ball as he “knit a sweater”.  He now thinks it was quite silly that he was “only pretending”.  He was fascinated with yarn then, so I had hoped one day he’d want to learn.  I just didn’t guess it would be so soon.  Where did my baby go?!

Last night, when Kyle asked him if he was ready for bed, he said, “I have more knitting to do!”  To which Kyle replied, “You sound like your Mama!”

This morning, he was dressed (in a sweater I knit for him) and lounging on the couch, knitting happily away before I’d even made it downstairs.  He already knits 30 stitches in a stretch before he drops one and needs assistance.

tea knitting

Tea, age 5

He was back at it after breakfast, and before we left for school, he set up a “special knitting place” next to the Christmas tree to use when he gets home from school.

teas knitting spot

He’s already talking about all of his plans for projects he wants to knit for his family.  That’s my boy.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Nancy permalink
    December 17, 2012 10:02 pm

    Funny, when I saw his first photo, I thought he looked younger & chubbier than I thought he’d be, though I hadn’t seen him for a few months. . . Then the big boy photo! He is growing up. Congrats on his being interested & really focusing in so well! Whether or not he does a true project, the agility & stick-to-it skills learned are great! Good to hear from you again, Robin!

  2. December 18, 2012 12:55 am

    This delights me to no end! The pictures of toddler Tea are priceless. Keep at it, buddy!

Leave a Reply

