Skip to content

Little Pickle

February 10, 2013
by

sisters

I am sad and I don’t really feel like blogging, but I sometimes feel better if I make myself write, so here I am.

Tomorrow, my little sister and her beautiful family are flying to New Zealand where my brother-in-law will be a resident in veterinary medicine at Massey University in Palmerston North.  They lived in Madison.  We hope to be moving to Madison very soon.  It bums me out to no end that, on the eve of our arrival in their neighborhood, they sold their home and are moving nearly as far away as humanly possible.  I can’t help but think this is payback for some mild childhood torture I may have inflicted on her.

So as they packed and purged their household, I absolutely did not build a lovely apartment in my basement where they all shall live under lock and key.  But I may have considered it.

Yesterday we said goodbye, although I don’t think I actually said anything at all because I was just trying not to cry as we hugged our way out the door.  Since tears don’t impede typing, I can now tell you, Meredith and Ewan, that I wish you the very best as you set out on  wonderful new adventures.  I will miss you all very, very much.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Amanda permalink
    February 10, 2013 4:23 pm

    Aw, so sorry, Robin! 😦 Thinking of you! (That is a great photo of you both!)

  2. February 10, 2013 10:58 pm

    OH. That is serious heart hurt stuff right there. Let the tears flow…they drop for a worthy cause. I’m so sorry, Robin! In the hopes that this perspective will be encouraging and not patronizing: when I read the first line of your post, I was afraid someone you loved had passed away. So, in that light, I was slightly relieved that although you are “losing” your sweet sis, you WILL see her again! Sending you hugs, friend!

  3. Nancy permalink
    February 11, 2013 10:11 am

    Robin, so sorry you are losing a dear sister/friend to overseas life. She is going on a wonderful adventure, & one of you will likely visit the other eventually. It’s always hard when you are looking at losing your base (home in Milton) & others are also moving away from what was dependable. I felt closer to several of my siblings when they were far across the US, as we would visit them for a week & they would visit Wis. for longer times. Now it’s just an afternoon with the whole family gathered, so lots less time visiting just with each sibling. We used to visit grandparents for a long weekend & long evening talks – now with them closer it’s more like a meal, but more often. Pros & cons! Thank God for internet & skype now, the blessing of staying in touch from far away with less effort.

  4. Nancy permalink
    February 11, 2013 10:13 am

    PS – I love the photo. Can you write her a long letter to read on the airplane? People have done that for me several times, & I treasure those notes.

Trackbacks

  1. 4 hours, 20 minutes | Knots, Weeds, and Library Fines

Leave a Reply

