Skip to content

A sweater for Tea

February 15, 2013
by

harvest-cardigan-on-tea

The boys were a little jealous of all the baby knitting I did this fall and have been asking when they get another sweater.  I know this desire for handknits can’t last forever so I am trying to knit more for them before they decide it’s embarrassing.

Tea picked out the pattern and then I asked him to choose the yarn.  He’d originally asked for yarn that was “pink or purple” and I was worried because I really hated the thought of staring at a project the color of neon bubblegum for hours.  But thankfully, he decided on a tweed that he called, “Berry-colored with sprinkles” and it suits him, I think.  I worked on it for most of January.  I sized it to fit him next year, thinking it’d take me that long to finish it, but I had it on and off my needles in less than a month.  (Raveled here.)   That’s a record for me for such a large project.  That also means the sleeves are way too long for him.  He didn’t mind that I had to tuck them up and fold over the cuffs to take pictures, and although I asked if we could put it away until next winter, he’s already worn it to school twice.

I loved the texture of the pattern, but it was a very time-consuming stitch.

harvest-cardigan-button

As a bonus, I had leftover yarn so I knit myself a hat the next day (Raveled here).  It was a fun, fast project to let my brain rest after the finicky sweater pattern.

antelope-hat

The yarn for Pea’s sweater arrived this week and I have a rough idea of what I’ll knit for him.  He chose a pattern that doesn’t come in his size, so I’m using it as more of an inspiration.  Together with a customizable raglan pattern and my stitch dictionary, I hope to make something similar to what he liked.  Getting the yarn on the needles, especially without a set pattern to follow, is the hardest part.  Maybe this weekend.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2013 12:34 pm

    What a gorgeous sweater! and Tea looks positively radiant in it!

  2. Amanda permalink
    February 15, 2013 1:10 pm

    Wow; you’re amazing! I can’t imagine they would *ever* be embarrassed to wear these one-of-a-kind sweaters!

  3. February 15, 2013 9:45 pm

    How lovely that he still wants hand knit sweaters. My daughter wants them, and then doesnt wear them so they end up going to another home. I think the cardigan looks fantastic, and the color really suits him. He might get to wear it for two winters if it is a bit big.

Leave a Reply

