Skip to content

Deep winter

February 7, 2014
by

DSC_0030

I’m surprised at myself, but I’m actually enjoying being in the middle of a cold Wisconsin winter this year.  I think our wonderful 2-week escape to warm weather has reset my Must End Winter Now clock.  Don’t get me wrong – I am dreaming of getting my hands into the dirt of our new garden when the snow melts.  It will be nice to collect Tea from school without every muscle in my body clenching tight against the icy trek across “the frozen tundra”, as we call the wind-swept playground.  I need warmer boots and my mittens have holes in the thumbs.  But there is a lot of tea I still want to drink, books I’d like to read, and warm flannel sheets to snuggle into.  Maybe the reason I like winter is that it makes time seem to stop – we’re frozen in place and I can sit quietly without feeling like I’m missing anything.  It’s harder to do that when the world outside starts to pulse and grow again.

DSC_0068

At some point, I’d also like to untangle my knitting and bring it back out of the hibernation I forced it into when the holidays hit.  Maybe tomorrow.  Maybe.  Punkin looks like she has a better plan for today.

This should go without saying, but for the record, there is a pile of dirty socks, toys and books I shoved out of frame.

This should go without saying, but for the record, there is a pile of dirty socks, toys and books I shoved out of frame.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

