Skip to content

Stamp it

February 17, 2014
by

A fundraiser for Tea’s school includes a silent auction of themed baskets at the school carnival.  His class’ theme is art supplies, and yesterday, several weeks late, I looked online at the list of things left to sign-up to donate.  Contributions are due soon but I’m all about the last-minute.  I saw “stamps” on the list and it reminded me of my brief but intense foray into stamp carving a few years ago.  I’ve never made anything beyond the 12 animals of the Thai zodiac, but I had some carving medium left.

My previous project had been so complicated, each stamp took about 2 hours to complete.  These were lightening quick by comparison.  In about 7 hours I had a complete set of 10 carved, and that time included researching and sketching ideas, eating dinner, and possibly interacting with my children.  Or not.  I don’t really remember.  I think I went into the Craft Zone.  Sorry, Kyle.

DSC_0169

It was really fun to carve again.  I think I’ll order more carving medium because I ended up liking the set I made so much, I am loathe to part with them even for a good cause.  I took a page from the boys’ playbook and rummaged through the recycling bin for packaging.  This herb container was perfect.  The boys want us to buy the basket that has the stamps, and are a little confused about the concept of a silent auction.  Whoever wins, I hope their new owner has fun stamping away.

DSC_0172

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Meredith permalink
    February 17, 2014 2:58 pm

    These are awesome, well done! I want some.

  2. Kristen permalink
    February 17, 2014 8:11 pm

    I remember those Thai stamps you made. Amazing. Get them out. I am sure the boys will be thrilled with them and get over wanting this set. Great job BTY.

Leave a Reply

