Skip to content

Winter sowing

February 24, 2014
by

I don’t start seeds indoors because in years of trying, I don’t think I’ve ever had one seedling result in a happy, robust, outdoor plant .  It’s not a talent of mine and I’ve made peace with that.  I sow directly outdoors when it warms up and fill in with plants from a nursery when I need to.

But Tea’s class did a winter sowing project with their 4th/5th grade buddies a couple of weeks ago.  Pea and I were there to help out, and Pea was disappointed he didn’t get a chance to plant any seeds of his own.

So I hadn’t intended to do anything garden-related for, well, about 3 months (kidding?  I hope?), but I can get behind the idea of starting seeds outdoors. I’m a tough love gardener – give me something I can throw outside and ignore any day.  I had a big bag of soil in the garage, Kyle’s co-workers brought him empty milk cartons, and I have a stash of old seeds.  No big deal if nothing grows.  But who knows?  Maybe it will!

DSC_0139

Pea was a great helper and we made short work of planting 10 different varieties.  Peppers and tomatoes were probably pie-in-the-sky but maybe the squash, beans, or sunflowers will take off.  It was really hard to choose what to plant , so I think we’ll save the next few empty milk jugs and add to our collection.

DSC_0143

I have to admit, it was a little exciting to put the mini greenhouses in the new garden.  Now if we could just get a fence and a lot less snow, we’d be in business.

DSC_0144

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

