Skip to content

Wasps-Away

May 16, 2014
by

There are too many bugs in my life right now.  Ants (that aren’t attracted to my sugar-based poison bait) have infiltrated the kitchen.  A huge cranefly has been rambling around the house – he’s too big to squish without thoroughly grossing me out, so he’ll stay until he dies, eliciting screams from the kids each time they discover him anew.  A monster spider has taken up residence in the recesses of my kitchen cupboard.  And wasps have been determined to build a condo in our deck umbrella.

I can almost deal with most of these things.  No, that’s a lie.  I’m ready to pack a bag and beg friends for a couch to sleep on.  But at least I have found a solution to the wasp problem.  I read that wasps, being territorial, will move on to a new location if they think there’s a competing nest nearby.  My first attempt at a fake nest was made of paper and easily destroyed in a rainstorm.

Then a visiting friend mentioned that he knew someone who’d knit a decoy nest.  After searching, I could only find a pattern for a crocheted nest, and I crochet about as well as a wasp would, so I fiddled with my knitting needles to make my best approximation of a bad-ass, we-will-kill-you-if-you-nest-near-us nest.  So far, the deck umbrella has gone from harboring 5 wasps each time I open it to being empty for the last week.  And the wasp fly-bys in the area have been significantly decreased.  It’s working!

I’m considering selling these puppies.  Anybody want a fake nest?  They double as a comfy pillow and would make a great Father’s Day gift for the dad that has everything.  You know you want one.

DSC_0622_1

 

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 16, 2014 1:19 pm

    I want one! Mike may want many more than one! Are you seriously offering?

    • May 16, 2014 1:23 pm

      Rachel, I’d make them for cost for camp. Let me know how many you want!

  2. Steph Blaser permalink
    May 16, 2014 3:59 pm

    Robin, I would be happy to pay $15.00 for one. We always have problems with bees. We have tried everything. I think this is an amazing idea. I am completely serious!

  3. May 16, 2014 4:49 pm

    Wow, great idea!! Wondering if I have “nest” color yarn in my stash…

  4. May 17, 2014 2:28 pm

    Haha, this is brilliant! I was at a friends house last night and she had a fairly unconvincing nylon decoy with a drawstring. Yours is much more realistic (I’ve sent my friend the link)

Leave a Reply

