Skip to content

Super Hedgie

September 19, 2014
by

I haven’t been bitten by the creative bug in awhile, so when an idea flitted into my head as I was waking up yesterday, I decided to run with it.  Today everyone in the boys’ school dressed like a super hero.  I can’t remember what Tea said their super powers are.  Something having to do with being super citizens and students, I think.

I’d intended to tell the boys to dig something out of the costume bin to wear.  Whether there are actually two wearable capes left, I’m not sure.  Probably not.  Super heroes are hard on their clothes.

But as I was waking up yesterday, still cushioned in the comfortable, non-reality of dreams, I thought, “Hmm. I could sew some capes.  And make freezer paper stencils for shirts.  And masks.  And whatever those wrist bands are.  What are those wrist things, anyway?  That wouldn’t be too hard…”

After the kids were off to school, I drove around town searching for t-shirts and fabric.  Materials acquisition took far longer than I’d anticipated.  Tea requested an orange shirt.  Pea wanted red.  I could only find an orangish red / redish orange shirt, so that had to do for both.  Fabric for capes and masks was found at a different store.  I already had thread, paint, brushes, freezer paper, elastic, and velcro, so the whole project set me back less than $9.

I went with a Super Hedgie theme, as the hedgehog is their school mascot.  I used an old cape of the boys for a rough idea on design.  Our printer is out of ink (It has been out of ink for months.  Ahem.) so I had to freehand the hedgehog for the stencil, which I really, really did not want to do, but it turned out alright.

The slippery cape material was quite challenging to sew, but by the time I picked up the boys from school, they were done and one shirt was painted.  I alerted Kyle to the “Creative Emergency” and he brought home pizza for dinner.  I love that man.

I cut out felt masks in the shape of hedgehogs, (the felt stretches too much, and I’m sure the boys have torn them off by now) and made wrist thingies.  I finished up as Kyle and I watched an old Doctor Who (they are about to die!  Oh no!  How ever will they get out of it this time?).

This morning the boys woke up crazy-excited to get dressed and wanted to head to school early for a photo shoot.  I am never going to argue with that.

DSC_09011

DSC_08981

There was lots of fun and flying until Pea tried the monkey bars.  He’s usually a pro, but the bars were still wet with dew, and he crashed hard, scraping his chin, spitting blood and gravel.  I dried his tears and snuggled him a bit, and it wasn’t long before he was flying around again, trying to eek out as much play time before the bell as he could.

collage

Sometimes it’s fun to drop everything and do something creative.  I never get around to it if I try to just carve out a little time here and there – for me it’s all consuming.  The house is trashed, so I’m not sure Kyle agrees with me, but he’s a good sport.  I’m looking forward to hearing all about the day my super heroes had today.

DSC_09271

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 19, 2014 1:30 pm

    Awesome! I especially like the action shot of jumping down the steps.

Leave a Reply

