Skip to content

Where I’ve been

November 20, 2014
by

My knitting needles took a vacation this summer but I decided to go big this fall.  Cruising around a pattern database, I saw a throw I loved:

photo credit:  Jared Flood/Brooklyn Tweed

photo credit: Jared Flood/Brooklyn Tweed

Hourglass, designed by Anne Hanson.  There were problems.  I would never finish a blanket that takes 2800 yards of yarn, and I only really loved it because it was wrapped around the model.  (While she drank tea, but I digress.)  Clearly, that throw was supposed to be a sweater.  I was going to make it happen.

I’ve knit smaller sweaters for the kids, but I’ve never knit myself a full sweater, let alone one for which a pattern doesn’t exist, so this was a big undertaking.  (OK, there was one bag of a bulky, never-worn disaster back in 2006 before I knew how to choose patterns and yarn carefully.)  I searched for a cardigan pattern I thought could be modified to accommodate the cable and lace pattern from the throw, and settled on Little Wave, by Gudrun Johnston.

photo credit: Brooklyn Tweed/Jared Flood

photo credit: Brooklyn Tweed/Jared Flood

Lots of math and swatching and gnashing of teeth later, I cast on.  In the month since then, I’ve spent roughly 82,000 hours knitting.  I’ve ignored the children, the dog, the husband.  I did more math.  I knit some more.  I painstakingly unknit 4 rows.  I did more math.  I discovered a mis-crossed cable 9 rows down and performed emergency surgery, delicately dropping only those 4 stitches down to my mistake and reconstructing them correctly.  I’ve worn a nice groove into the couch, where I spend each evening knitting and watching Doctor Who.  The lengthening fabric of my sweater caught my tears when David Tennant died (Matt Smith is so not my doctor).  I realized the sweater is Tardis blue and that cheered me a little.  I urge the kids out the door to school earlier and earlier each morning so I can  pick up where I’ve left off the day before.  The dishes collect on the counter unwashed.  Clean laundry is in short supply.  I forgot to plant garlic until 12 hours before our first snow.  Every day, an hour before Kyle comes home, I desperately cast about the kitchen for something I can quickly throw on plates for dinner.  Tonight we might be reduced to cereal because I’m writing about knitting instead of driving to buy groceries.

Charts, instructions, and math.

Charts, instructions, and math.

Seriously.  Math.

Seriously. Math.

But the end is in sight.  I’ll finish the second shoulder today and all that will be left to do is grafting the saddle stitches.  And knitting the button band.  And the collar.  And the pockets.  And sewing up the holes under the arms.  And adding buttons.  And blocking.  On second thought, I might need another month.

But at least it’s looking like a sweater.  And I will never wear anything else ever again.

The beginning.  The sweater several weeks ago.

The beginning. The sweater several weeks ago.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kerrie permalink
    November 21, 2014 6:24 pm

    beautiful!

Leave a Reply

