Skip to content

Buttons should not cause this much angst

December 17, 2014
by

All that was left to finish up my sweater was the buttons.  I have failed to find the perfect buttons for my cardigan, and for now I am giving up the fight.

I drove around town to 4 places.  None had 5 matching buttons that were right.  My preference was wood buttons, but they were all the wrong size, the wrong color, or the store had but 2 of them.  I tried leather but it was the wrong look.  I would have tried something silver and old fashionedey if I’d found the right ones.  No store stocked more than 3.  What would you do with only 3 buttons?  I am disappointed in you, Madison Button-Stockers.  You are falling down on the job.

I ordered some buttons on Etsy – and gave them the wrong shipping address.  They ended up back with the seller in California.  You could say I took it as a sign, but really I just lost patience.  I ultimately settled on the wrong color for the sake of being able to wear the sweater sooner.  I’ll still keep a look-out though.  Switching buttons is easy.

DSC_08981 web

Punkin and I now rock matching sweaters, which feels very lucky.  She’s had a rough month, poor old girl, with cancer-removal surgery and then emergency surgery to deal with an scary abscess.  Happily, her staples came out yesterday, thank goodness, because she was an absolute menace to the Christmas tree – the cone of shame flung ornaments in all directions every time she walked by.  But I digress.  This is about our lovely matching sweaters (I did not knit hers).

DSC_00041 web

BUTTON UPDATE:  Moments before hitting “publish”, the doorbell rang.  The post man delivered a small package from California – the buttons found me after all, despite the long-expired forwarding address and being marked “return to sender”.  Hurray!  It’s a button-miracle!

photo (7) web

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 17, 2014 1:34 pm

    A great knit.

  2. knittedblissjc permalink
    December 17, 2014 3:37 pm

    that sweater looks awesome, I’m not surprised you were desperate to wear it and extra-frustrated by not finding the buttons you wanted! Congrats on the buttons finally arriving. I tend to order my buttons online too- it’s easier to find exactly what you want, in the size you need, and quantities. Basically as soon as I cast on, I start looking online for buttons.

  3. December 17, 2014 5:43 pm

    Clearly you need a button stash.

    • December 18, 2014 9:40 am

      I do! I mean, I only have 4 glass jars full. So, clearly, not enough. 😉

  4. Den permalink
    December 18, 2014 6:09 am

    So glad your buttons found their way to you! 🙂 I’m so glad that I am not the only one that is so very picky about buttons.

    Punkin is so adorable. I’m sure she loves her sweater. Glad she’s on the mend!

  5. Karen Buchs permalink
    February 19, 2015 6:19 pm

    This sweater is one I’ve been interested in. It looks beautiful on you!

Leave a Reply

