Skip to content

Sleeve surgery and final sweater assessment

December 17, 2014
by

Shortening the sleeves on my cardigan was far more mentally than technically challenging.  I used instructions from the excellent TECHknitting.  I measured 42 times to verify where the cuffs should begin, picked up the stitches onto my needle, and chopped off below it with scissors.  Cutting straight through knitted fabric feels reckless and horrifying.  I don’t believe I will ever be able to steek anything.

I started knitting ribbing directly at the needles.  Phew, that was a lot of extra fabric!

I started knitting ribbing directly at the needles. Phew, that was a lot of extra fabric!

I thought I’d be thrifty and reuse the yarn, but since I’d already blocked (washed) the sweater, the yarn had definite ideas about what shape it wanted to stay in – small intestine shaped- and reknitting it wasn’t going to happen.  Luckily I had spare yarn, because I didn’t want to take the time to recondition the old yarn.  I know it can be done, and I’ve saved the yarn to sit in my yarn stash forever collecting dust fix it in the future.

Seriously kinky yarn

Seriously kinky yarn

Overall I’m happy with how it turned out.  Three niggling things annoy me a bit but not enough to keep me from wearing it.

  1. My row gauge must have been a bit off because the arm hole is too deep.  This makes things fit a little wonky so I just try not to think about it.
  2. I made an error on the yoke in the back, probably using the wrong-slanting decrease, so there’s one bloody stitch that looks out of place in the nice crisp line of stitches across the shoulders.  I can’t see it when I’m wearing it.  But I KNOW IT’S THERE.
  3. The length is longer than I was going for – I should have taken the weight of the fabric pulling it longer into account.  But better too long than too short.

It’s not terrible, it’s just not perfect.  It drives Kyle crazy that I say this, as he knows the time I put into it, and to him it just looks like a sweater.  He is not a knitter, so he does not understand, and so I forgive him his annoyance.  I’ll still enjoy wearing it, and I can give it another go, maybe next fall with a different pattern, and incorporate the things I’ve learned.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

