Skip to content

Planting all the things

May 23, 2015
by

In my vegetable garden, there’s nothing left to plant.  All the seedlings and all the seeds have been crammed in with a shoe horn, and I’m again wishing I had more space for eggplant and okra and kohlrabi.  Next year.  There’s more included than left out, and if half of it produces, we won’t need to buy much at the farmers market by mid-summer.   

 This is year 2 in the garden.  I didn’t have to plant as much this year, as a lot self-seeded.  The arugula, lettuce, green onions, onions, bok choi, cilantro, and dill (holy hell, the dill!!) all volunteered themselves.  The garlic I planted in the fall looks great.  Most of the asparagus and neglected onions, and all of the green onions and oregano and chives and currants survived the winter.

This year I added a border around the fenced-in veggies for perennial herbs like lavendar, chamomile, calendula, climbing nasturtium, anise hyssop, etc etc etc.  Some rhubarb, yarrow, hollyhock, and cosmos are in there for good measure.  I’m looking forward to the herbs growing so it’ll be extra pretty and the boys can make their own herbal tea from a whole host of choices.

Pea is an enthusiastic garden helper.  Today he earned 91 cents pulling black nightshade seedlings at a penny a piece.  Normally a bit lax on the weeding, I didn’t really want to let those get big, being poisonous and all.

A young friend planted a tomato in our bed today, too, and we look forward to extra kid-hands helping weed and water this summer.  Or at least extra kid feet running through the yard, which is also nice.  😉

For me, today is the day the garden is at its height.  Everything planted is still fully possible.  Weather hasn’t yet failed to cooperate, bugs haven’t yet descended, and the pestilence of last summer’s powdery mildew is a distant memory.  You can’t plant a garden without a whole lot of hope.  I see it lush and full of delicious food and beautiful flowers in my imagination.  The garden is full of possibility, and I love it dearly.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Den permalink
    May 24, 2015 7:48 am

    Looks beautiful! I have seeds in and am eagerly waiting to see how things go since I work during Farmers Market hours. 😦

    Tell me about planting garlic?

  2. May 24, 2015 7:59 am

    Wow, looks great. My garden and backyard need some serious editing, so I am stealing, er, studying everyone else’s!!

Leave a Reply

