Skip to content

Appeltaart van Meter

October 22, 2015
by

Something about the golden leaves and brisk air in fall reminds me of Belgium, and I can’t help but reminisce about the year I spent there, way back in 1995-96 as a (slightly moody – sorry about that, dear familie DeBrabandere) high school senior.  Once a week (Wednesdays?) school got out early and that was the afternoon that my sister Elke and I would visit Meter and Bompa.  Mama Chris would often do Meter’s hair while we ate thick slices of Meter’s heavenly apple cake.  Bompa would give us tours of his vegetable garden and tell stories.  I loved those afternoons.  I would transport myself back to that kitchen in a heartbeat if I could.

This must have been on a special occasion to warrant eating in the dining room.

This must have been on a special occasion to warrant eating in the dining room.

Every time I’ve been back, I’ve been lucky to have some apple cake and visit with Meter and Bompa.

DSC_0012

Apple cake is photobombing in front of Meter.

DSC_0049

Tea was 3, which means we are overdue for a visit. Has it really been more than 5 years?

I’m glad Tea got a chance to meet Meter and Bompa on our last visit.  So sadly, Bompa passed away this summer.  The world is missing a very bright light without his smile.

Sometimes life gets a little challenging, and now is one of those times.  I am currently coping by chopping off my hair, hugging trees under the guise of measuring them for a tree study, and eating comfort food.  Enter Meter’s apple cake.  It’s curative, and I recommend you try it, too.

appeltaart

I was waaay too impatient to wait for it to cool and dust with the powdered sugar before snagging my first piece.

Appeltaart van Meter

13 T butter, softened (or 9.5 T canola oil if avoiding dairy)
1 C sugar
1.5 t vanilla
1 T rum
3 eggs, separated
1.75 C flour
2 t baking powder
0.5 t salt
2 apples, peeled and chopped
powdered sugar

Cream butter, sugar, vanilla, and rum.  Slowly stir in flour, salt, baking powder.  Stir in egg yolks and apples.  Whip egg whites and fold them in.  Pour batter into a 9″ spring form pan.  Bake 355F for about 45 minutes until a toothpick comes out clean.  Leave in pan for 10 minutes before removing to cool.  Dust with powdered sugar.

Enjoy.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

